Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityExtraS8 Preview-210IT’S ALMOST HERE! Pardon the shouting, but we’re a bit excited. Join Deb, Erika, Katrina, and Lynne as we talk about what little we know of the upcoming Series 8. We also have a nice little discussion about out spoiler policy–and spoilers in general. Poor Erika does too much Verity! homework and learns more than she wants. Lynne experiences ratatouille and bitterness. Kat wants you to serve her fangirly whims. And Deb is apparently on a first-name basis with Steven Moffat.

What are you most excited about in series 8? Let us know (in a spoiler-free manner!) in the comments! And let us know your thoughts on spoilers too!

^E

Related links:
Mr. Chris from The Pharos Project snapped a pic of us “on the big screen”
Radio Free Skaro’s trailer coverage
Bridging the Rift
“I have a theory…it could be bunnies”
Doctor Who World Tour playlist
The Ultimate Companion
The Ultimate Time Lord
Series 8 fan-made opening
Deimos (Big Finish audio w/Paul McGann & the Ice Warriors)
Rachel Talalay
Sheree Folkson
Series 8 episode titles (and more)
BBC America Deep Breath time change

Download or listen now (runtime 38:14) 

Comments on: "Verity! Extra! – Series 8! Series 8! What Do We Appreciate?" (10)

  1. What do we appreciate? Verity!

  2. I feel sorry for Erika.

  3. This was fun to listen to while waiting waiting waiting for Saturday. We all squee together!

    About spoilers: I started watching Doctor Who after Season Five, so having just watched the entire New Who in a short time, I had to suddenly adjust to what all Who Fans have to endure, The Waiting. Consequently, I read and watched and studied everything as Season Six was arriving, and I knew a lot about every episode before it happened. And I didn’t like that very much. So since then, I avoid as much as I possibly can without completely getting off the Internet. I haven’t read the list of episode names, but I do know the first two names. I’ve seen blips about guests but don’t have the info memorized or anything. I will enjoy Season Eight with as little info as possible. Finally it’s almost here!!

  4. Mr Axon said:

    I’ll be waiting for the DVD release of the series (late November/December), attempting to avoid spoilers in the meantime. I’ve become used to this because, during the mid-2000s, Doctor Who wasn’t shown on terrestrial TV in Italy, my country of residence, and I was always relying on the DVDs during the Eccleston and Tennant years. In the past I haven’t had too many regrets about unplugging myself from Internet fandom for a few months before the DVD release.

    However the strategy only works to a certain extent. Last year I was very happy and, to be honest, astonished, to see that one of my students presented a project based on Doctor Who for her exam (the subject wasn’t suggested by me, and was a free choice on the part of the student). The project did, however, contain spoilers…!

    I’ve also been happy to see those clips and photos of the enthusiastic audiences on the World Tour. After being quite a dedicated fan particularly from around 1986 to the 1996 Paul McGann movie, during which Doctor Who did not have the best of reputations, I still find the type of strong, positive reactions seen in those clips surprising.

  5. Mr Axon- I remember having to do a similar thing back in the days of VHS box sets for Buffy, because I didn’t have Sky, the channel that showed it first in the UK. I always failed miserably- they’d be spoilers on magazine covers, for flip’s sake, back in the day. I’d end up literally knowing every single “surprise” before I had actually seen the series.

    Next time there is one of these season preview things Erika should definately get that episode of the podcast off.

  6. Well, just so you know they’re out there, someone has gotten ahold of some pre-screen edits of the 2nd & 3rd episodes. I did see them, and I’m not going to spoil anything. However, I will say that I do not think you ladies will be disappointed in the Dalek episode.

  7. Spiderific said:

    I hadn’t heard the term “head cannon” before, and thought it was a reference to middle period cyberman’s weapon of choice. Now I know there is such a thing as team cyberman, I was clearly right

    • I remember the first time I heard it. I was baffled until I started laughing. Now I love it. I didn’t think of the Cyber-head guns for a while, but now it makes me love that term even more! (Even if I’m not on Team Cyberman.)

  8. Ok – slightly odd. I’m commenting on this episode before I’ve even heard it. The last couple of weeks I’ve been a little behind catching up with podcasts, and I had to skip this one in favour of going straight to the Deep Breath episode to hear what you guys thought. And then I listened to all the other DW podcasts with their 2 cents. After all of this, I didn’t think I could go back and listen to the previous week’s Verity on series 8 spoilers before you’d all seen the first ep. Here I was, ready to delete it from iTunes – and I never usually do that, but it’s been a busy week – and in the description I see the line, “Ive got a theory – it could be bunnies”. And – well – you had me at bunnies. Consider the episode saved and ready for my playlist on the way to work tomorrow.

    All a round about way of saying – I love you guys!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,687 other followers

