Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

tennant36

Welcome to the Things We Like Post!  Below are links to related works for Verity! Episode 3: A Perfect 10?.  You will find links to things such as fan art, tie-in media items, fanvids and even Trock!  From the silly to the sublime, when we think about the Tenth Doctor’s era, these are things that make us happy.  Enjoy!

Note: Some of these related works may be intended for mature audiences. In those cases, they will be marked appropriately.

Things Deb Likes:

Fanvids:

Di Wey – Tenth Doctor: The Musical (Contains a bit of language)
Flummery – Handlebars

If you are not averse to downloading versus streaming, I HIGHLY recommend Fan Eunice and Greensilver’s vid Papa Don’t Preach.  Not only is it fun, it is a fantastic example of using source material to tell a completely different story. In this case, the story of Jack telling the Tenth Doctor he is pregnant with the Master’s baby.  Don’t judge, it works.  😉

Comics:

Tony Lee’s Tenth Doctor Comics, regular run: The Fugitive, The Tessaract, and The Final Sacrifice 

Audiobooks:

The Forever Trap by Dan Abnett

Books:

The Stone Rose by Jacqueline Raynor

Things Erika Likes:

Music

The Doctor and the Master by Doctor Noise

Things Lynne Likes:

Fanvids:

Bex 19 – Every Little Thing She Does is Magic
The David Tennant and John Barrowman Kiss at ComicCon

Things Tansy Likes:

Fanvids:

Chameleon Circuit – An Awful Lot of Running
Chameleon Circuit – Blink
David Tennant – The Ballad of Russell and Julie
David Tennant – 500 Miles
John Barrowman – Single Ladies

Fan Art:

Donna in the Runaway Bride by Kathleen Jennings

Is there something related to the Tenth Doctor’s era that you love?  Feel free to drop a link in comments.  We’d love to see your recommendations!

Comments on: "Things We Like: Allons-y Edition" (6)

  1. Deb so glad you linked to Flummery’s Handlebars (and that someone put it on youtube!)

    I’d also recommend The Forgotten – which is another comic by Tony Lee.

    • Deborah Stanish said:

      I’m a pretty big fan of all of Tony Lee’s DW work so I agree with your rec. I love how he sprinkles his writing with classic story “Easter Eggs” that make me run to Wikipedia but don’t detract from the story at hand for fans that aren’t quite as obsessive.

      And yes, Handlebars is one of my all-time favorite vids. I’m glad I was able to track down a streaming copy!

  2. Korina said:

    First, love the ‘cast; I’ve been pimping it around Ravelry (an online fiber arts forum including two DW groups) and everyone loves it. Thanks for the estrogen break. ^__^

    Second, I also have to throw in my vote for ‘Handlebars’; it’s a perfect match of song and subject, and gives me goosebumps every time I watch it. In my opinion, it encapsulates DT’s run better than any single episode.

    • Deborah Stanish said:

      Thanks for listening and thank you for reccing us at Ravelry! (I’m a member but haven’t logged on in a while – we’ve been a bit busy. *g*)

      I totally agree re Handlebars. There is a sense of escalating dread that marries both the music and source material perfectly. When I think of the tenth Doctor this is the vid that immediately springs to mind. IMO, he is far, far darker than the ninth Doctor who is the fan-acknowledged “dark Doctor”. Tennant’s Doctor has him beat in spades!

      • Korina said:

        Nine wasn’t dark, he was damaged. He reminds me strongly of the post WWI era, when the returning vets tried to bury their PTSD behind drinking, drugs, frivolity, and truly manic partying. I believe it led to the ‘flapper’ craze of the ’20’s. That’s how I think of him; trying desperately to distract himself from the memories. It’s my headcanon that the Tardis forced the Doctor to survive and regenerate, rather than die with the rest of his people as he undoubtedly wanted. I also think the Tardis was heavily damaged during the war, which helps explain the junky, cobbled-together look of the console. In my brain, anyway.

        Ten is one step removed, and not as damaged, at least on the surface, but he is ‘the winner’, and Handlebars’ escalation from ‘I can ride my bike with no handlebars’ to ‘I can end the world in a holocaust’ to be the perfect, chilling description of where the Doctor was heading. When he *broke* in Waters of Mars (I believe from the war and then *so much* loss), I got a serious case of the heebie jeebies; I was glad he regenerated when he did, because how long would it take for him to go from the lonely god to just God?

        I think Eleven, two steps removed, has healed a great deal, and I look forward to seeing where he goes, how he adjusts to the idea of being effectively immortal (with no Time Lords to limit his regenerations).

        Not that I’ve given this a lot of thought. 🙂

  3. The Tenth Doctor is certainly well covered for support material and I have a soft spot for all the stuff that BBC Audio/AudioGo have brought out.
    The Forever Trap was mentioned above and indeed that’s one of my favourites as well but no Tenth Doctor fan should be without at least one audiobook reading from David Tennant, ‘Dead Air’ by James Goss won awards and is pretty good, but for me the top one is the abridged reading of ‘The Ressurection Casket’ by Justin Richards it’s Doctor Who does Treasure Island in space and David really goes to town with it. Personally though I recommend every Tennant audio book, they are brilliant. One other Ten/Rose audio I’d recommend is ‘The Nightmare of Black Island’ by Mike Tucker read by Anthony Head. Great story that really feels like it belongs to the TV series.
    Sadly David never read any Ten/Martha stories but instead we have Martha herself, Freema Agyeman stepping in as main narrator. She is excellent and any of her stories are well worth a listen to, however top of the pile must be ‘The Story of Martha’ by Dan Abnett as this of course fills the gap year that never was between ‘The Sound of Drums’ and ‘Last of the Time Lords’. ‘The Last Dodo’ by Jaquline Raynor and ‘The Pirate Loop’ by Simon Guerrier are also worth a listen. Of the non Freema narrated stories, ‘Wooden Heart’ by Martin Day is worth a listen purely for Adjoa Andoh’s Martha voice, the similarity between her and Freema is uncanny. Also liked ‘Peacemaker’ by James Swallow read by Will Thorp this was the Tenth Doctor in the Wild Wild West and I thought it was brilliant.
    Catherine Tate has only read two stories, audio only, and the pick of them is already mentioned, ‘The Forever Trap’ of the others the one I’d heartily recommend is ‘Beautiful Chaos’ by Gary Russell read beautifully by Bernard Cribbins.
    The audios of the books set during the gap year are all unabridged so watch out for that. One of my all time favourite Tenth Doctor stories falls into this category, ‘Prisoner of The Daleks’ by Trevor Baxendale read by, who else but Nicholas Briggs. An excellent story and who needs imagination when Nick will read his Dalek voice out for you, he’s also done a Judoon story ‘Judgement of The Judoon’ by Colin Brake. Decent story. In fact all the gap year books were good, even the Slitheen Excusion. Great range of readers and great company for long long walks.

Leave a Reply

