Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode14-300

Neil Gaiman has returned to Doctor Who! Was it a triumph, a colossal failure, or something in between? Join Deb, Erika, Kat, and Tansy as we discuss Mr. Gaiman’s sophomore Who effort. Were the Cyberman scarier or overpowered? Was the addition of children a bad idea or a wasted opportunity? Are cybermites cute? Or really cute? We tackle these questions and more.

^E

Also covered:
More than 30 Years in the TARDIS! and Queers Dig Time Lords!
South Park Doctor Who fanfic: Unlocking South Park!
Meglos! and Underworld!
Philadelphia Comic Con!

Download or listen now (runtime 1:03:33) 

Comments on: "Verity! Episode 14 – Nightmare in Quicksilver" (7)

  1. I hope the whole Clara mystery isn’t that someone’s made her to be The Doctor’s perfect companion cause that’s too much of a retread of Series 5 Amy. She was made by his enemies to be his ideal companion as a trap to lead him to the Pandorica.

    Also I’ve said this before but I would love to have a companion that just is. When’s the last time we had a companion that just gets whisked off in the Tardis for fun and adventures no “mysterious back story” strings attached. Not for 4 series now. That isn’t a trap (Amy), that isn’t fated to travel with the doctor (Donna), that doesn’t have a huge mystery surrounding her (Clara/Amy/Donna). I’m really tiring of the companion has to have a huge mystery behind them formula that they seem stuck on. I like Clara, but I’d like her even more if she were just a regular girl that went on amazing adventures with the doctor. As it stands now she’s an impossibly complicated and mysterious girl that goes on mediocre adventures with him. Maybe if they stopped trying to make the companions back story and existence so convoluted they could devote more time and energy into to putting out more consistently good stories.

    • Chris (@Silver_Nemesis) said:

      Amy wasn’t made by the Doctor’s enemies nor was she a trap. Amy was just a girl who happened to live next to the crack in time. Everything in her development after that was a result of what the Doctor did to her. The Pandorica itself was the trap. The alliance may have used ideas from Amy’s house to make it interesting but it was the puzzle of what the Pandorica was that enticed the Doctor.

      Donna didn’t have any mystery until the Doctor’s speech at the end of Turn Left – the penultimate story. Whilst there was a bit of a mystery with Amy I’m surprised you haven’t mentioned the most laboured mystery of all – River Song. That’s the only one of these I tired of.

  2. Ray Adamson said:

    In my childhood,amusement parks seemed to be populated by scary supervillains and deformed monsters when they were not in use and the very notion of them is to scare people for entertainment so it was inevitable that the TARDIS would eventually arrive in one of these places,sometime.Nightmare In Silver was conventional Doctor Who rather than impressive Neil Gaiman but it featured a plot that used the main characters well,engaging supporting characters,action,horror,humour and an invasion of cybermen.The negative reaction to the inclusion of the children in the story,seems to me to be a combination of the performance and writing but there have been great performances from child actors like Caitlin Blackwood in recent Doctor Who so i,m a little surprised at how critical fans have been about the decision to include the children in the adventure.Matts’ incarnation of The Doctor does seem to function especially well in stories with children and it’s one of the few things that worked in The Doctor,the Widow and the Wardrobe for me.I’m not convinced that the way Clara assumed command of the soldiers was completely inconsistant with her character since she does have to behave with authority and cope with responsibility as a babysitter.I thought Kat’s rationalisation of why Clara didn’t retreat to the TARDIS when she was aware of the danger with the Maitland children was quite astute and plausible.I did think the psychological confrontation between the Doctor and the cyber upgrade dominated the story to the detriment of Gaimans’ intention of creating ways to make them more scary.I was really irritated that this was introduced into the story by establishing that Cybermen had previously only been capable of converting humankind into Cybermen.It’s a little disappointing that their empire could only have been founded on colonised planets.I had always imagined them adapting and developing their technology to cope with converting different aliens.

  3. Elvis Omar said:

    Unlike some fans I’ve read, I happen to like young actors in my Doctor Who sometimes. Kids are people, and they can be just as interesting as adults when they are written into a story well. I think Caitlin Blackwood as the young Amelia Pond was delightful. Loved it. I say that as preface, because I thought Angie and Artie Maitland were horrendous. As actors, I think maybe they were just fine, I won’t argue that they were, but I wasn’t bothered by the performance.

    In an otherwise pretty darned good story, the characters felt tacked on to the plot with chewing gum and rubber binders. You women on the cast covered it pretty well, parts of the story were terrific, parts were a little awkward. Overall, it’s not my favorite story of the year, but it was fun. I want to see it again.

    I liked the way they made it clear which intelligence in the Doctor’s body was speaking. It reminded me a little of how Gollum and Sméagol were treated in Peter Jackson’s Return of the King. I’ve heard others who hated it. I think it was important for me to understand who was speaking. Woolfenden handled it nicely.

  4. The feeling I got from Nightmare in Silver is that it was a two-episode idea ungainly squeezed into one episode. That might have improved the problem with the children, answered some questions, and heightened the tension.

  5. I seem to be in the minority of fans in that this was one of my favorites from the second half of series 7. It wasn’t perfect, and I can certainly see the faults everyone points out, but the actual experience of watching it was, for me, an absolute blast. I thought Matt Smith’s slightly over-the-top back and forth portrayal of the Doctor and Mr Clever was perfect, and the new look of the Cybermen was really slick. And while I don’t get why they didn’t make more use of their sudden fast, Matrix-style movement capability, just knowing they *could* was pretty menacing. As my husband said “Well sh*t. The one thing that always reassured me about the Cybermen was they were slow and stompy. If they’re fast, we’re all toast.”

    Would have loved more of the amusement park itself though. As I kid I was really creeped out at the idea of an abandoned amusement park (likely inspired by the Care Bear Movie of 1985, if anyone else remembers that!) so I was rather hoping we’d see more of this one.

  6. Those damn kids irritate the crap out of me! Thankfully, Neil (or the director or someone else!) came up with a way to keep them silent for a majority of the episode. I’m not at all opposed to having child actors in Doctor Who (as someone else mentioned above, Caitlin Blackwood as Amelia is brilliant), but I want them to be good actors. Unfortunately, these actors aren’t. I agree with what Deb said that it’s a shame the kids were sidelined for so much of this story because they could have added a lot of value, but these actors just didn’t have the chops to add that value, so sidelining them is the only thing that made sense.

    Outside of the kids, I enjoyed the amusement park setting (very creepy!) and I appreciated Warwick Davis. I’d love to see him return!

Leave a Reply

