Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityExtraQDTL-300Apparently it’s book season at Verity! For this week’s Extra we bring you yet another book review. Join Deb, Erika, Liz, and Tansy as we discuss what we thought of the latest of the “geek chronicles” from Mad Norwegian Press, Queers Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the LGBTQ Fans Who Love It.

As you may expect, we don’t agree about what types of essays we like best, but we do agree that this is an excellent addition to anyone’s Doctor Who nonfiction library. If you want to check out one example of what you can find in it, take a gander at Rachel Swirsky’s “The Girl Who Waited (for the Guidance Counselor to Get to His Point)”. Though as we point out, the essays in this book run the gamut, so there’s something for everyone!

^E

Download or listen now (runtime 30:49) 

Comments on: "Verity! Extra! – Chicks Dig Queers Dig Time Lords" (6)

  1. I found the distinction you made between critical and personal essays quite interesting. It’s not something I’d spent a lot of time thinking about before but I think this book struck quite a nice balance between the two, It never ceases to amaze me how many different perspectives people have on a show that I think I know so well and how it’s affected their lives in so many different ways, so that’s one thing I found very cool about this book.

    I’m also really glad the Stones of Blood essay was singled out because that one really stood out for me too and me want to go back and re-watch it right away.

    • Glad you enjoyed the book (and the episode!). This book made me spend time thinking about many things I hadn’t thought of before. As I said, it’s way outside my usual reading comfort zone, but I’m so glad I stepped outside that to read it!

  2. I haven’t read the book yet, but plan to, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy it as I’ve loved the other Mad Norwegian Press books. I do really like both the critical and personal essays in each, depending on my mood. The personal ones often lead to Nerd Tears though, so I can’t read those in public. 🙂
    Really looking forward to picking up this book!

    • I do hope you’ve gotten a chance to nab the book (or are at least still on the lookout for it). I’d go so far as to say it’s an “important” book, and those aren’t words I throw around lightly.

  3. […] links: Our discussion of “Being a Girl” Our review of Queers Dig Time Lords Labels Against Women – #ShineStrong […]

  4. This is one of those books that was on my radar, but I never got around to reading it. But you guys have inspired me to read it, so I just bought it on my Kindle. 🙂 While I don’t normally love books of essays, you made this one sound interesting enough to jump in.

Leave a Reply

