Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode32-300It’s official. 2013 is over, and so is the tenure of Matt Smith as the Doctor. Once again, join ALL the Verities: Deb, Erika, Katrina, Liz, Lynne, and Tansy, as we discuss Matt’s final episode. It should come as no surprise that we disagree on whether this was a good and worthy sendoff for such a fine Doctor. Who loved it? Who didn’t? And why? Listen and see!

This week we have our first pre-release erratum! Tansy’s daughter Raeli wanted her to tell everyone that she got The Abominable Snowmen Target novelisation, & the one Tansy is reading to Jemima is The Ice Warriors. This will make sense to you after you’ve listened to what’s caught Tansy’s attention in Doctor Who this week.

^E

Also covered:

Bonus link:
Peter Capaldi and Jenna Coleman look like owls

Download or listen now (runtime 1:37:04) 

Comments on: "Verity! Episode 32 – Doctor Stew Is Required" (36)

  1. bekitty3 said:

    Did anyone else catch the Twelfth Doctor saying that he didn’t like the colour of his new kidneys? It made me think of Patrick Troughton saying “Oh, you’ve redecorated! I don’t like it…”

  2. baticeer said:

    Somebody I followed on tumblr (can’t remember who it was unfortunately) made a post a few minutes after it was over saying “Gee, that was a lovely and sad five-minute long regeneration mini-episode and isn’t Capaldi exciting? Uh, Time of the Doctor? I don’t know what that is, what are you talking about.” Which… basically sums up how I felt about the special as well. Didn’t like it at all, but the actual regeneration scene was lovely. It didn’t make me cry (only one Doctor Who episode has ever done that and it was “Vincent and the Doctor”) but it was tremendously well-acted. And there was Karen Gillan and KIDNEYS and Capaldi is going to be Scottish! So I hated the episode personally but at least it went out on a high note.

    I was really excited when I spotted the shout-out to Verity in The Girl Who Loved Doctor Who. That comic was wonderful, a great little celebration of Doctor Who fandom and a perfect way to end IDW’s Doctor Who license if it sadly had to come to a close.

  3. Like many, I have mixed feelings about about ‘The Time of the Doctor’. It isn’t my favorite Moffat episode (that’s still ‘Blink’), or even my favorite Christmas special (that’s ‘A Christmas Carol’). As Erika said, I think the script needed another draft, and probably another 20 to 30 minutes to develop some of the plot elements. Furthermore, the script has two distinct parts with dramatically different pacing and tone, and the transition between the two fails to smoothly bind them together.

    The pace is hectic at first, pummeling us with references to previous story lines. It also juxtaposes the rather tense domestic scene at Clara’s flat with a rapid sequence of action scenes involving the Daleks, Cybermen, Silence, and Weeping Angels. Add in some socially inappropriate nudity, and this makes for an emotionally jarring mix. Another editing pass could have helped this section of the script most. Perhaps some of the references should have been left out to avoid ‘The Pandorica Opens’ syndrome, but at least the frenetic pace of transitions could have been toned down a bit.

    Tasha Lem is clearly intended to be an enigma however, and in fact her scenes are polished and well developed. Moffat seems to be working overtime to annoy fans disturbed by The Doctor’s sexuality, and also hinting heavily that Tasha is related to River Song somehow (yowza!) She clearly can’t be a later regeneration of River as she hasn’t seen the 11th Doctor before, but perhaps she is an earlier one, before Mels. After all, we don’t really know what happened to Melody after her regeneration in the alley but before Mels shows up in school with Amy and Rory. See

    and

    if you want to refresh your memory of these scenes. True, I had assumed Mels’ comment about about regenerating into a toddler in New York implied she regenerated directly from Melody, but I think there’s room to insert more story in between.

    The core story of ‘The Time of the Doctor’ doesn’t begin until The Doctor and Clara arrive in the town itself. This story is basically a sentimental one, and although the action scenes continue they don’t contribute any more to plot development. In fact, Moffat introduces narration to keep the plot moving, a sure sign he was struggling to fit the story into the remaining time. It is the awkward combination of this slower core story with the manic pace of the rest that spoils this episode as a whole. The marriage of these two elements could have been improved by the addition of more time here, rather than transitioning via a series of vignettes linked by narration.

    I really didn’t like how The Doctor sends Clara home *twice*, but I object to the tone more than the plot device itself. Moffat needed a method to skip forward hundreds of years to show The Doctor as he ages and evoke a sense of pathos. However, tricking Clara seems cruel, especially immediately after she makes him promise not to do it again. This makes The Doctor seem less sympathetic when the plot as a whole is trying to evoke sympathy for him. It would have been better for her to simply return home to check on her family, or to use some similar, less involuntary device.

    Overall ‘The Time of the Doctor’ is far from the worst episode of Doctor Who. It has flaws and is definitely disappointing when compared to ‘The Day of the Doctor’. But it is a satisfying conclusion to the 11th Doctor’s arc with enough intriguing elements to keep fans debating for a while. Here’s hoping we get lots more stories in the future about Tasha Lem!

  4. Hi! I discovered your podcast early last year and have followed it since. I enjoy your reviews and comments, as well as your positive outlook, even when criticizing elements of the show. Since I’ve been finding that as a writer I automatically veer towards pro-feminist, I find your discussions on that aspect of Doctor Who very interesting.

    I was thinking about your comment on the Papal Mainframe; particularly the notion that having scheduled faith changes could be the way to end all religious wars and we then could live happily ever after.

    Do you think it might be possible that the proposed reasons for violence and (religious) wars in various situations are interchangeable and what really causes all these troubles comes down to something we all share: human nature?

    Since faith, at least in the experience of myself and an awful lot of my friends and acquaintances, is something which is relationship orientated, scheduling faith changes would be a horribly shallow thing to do. And I have serious doubts it would solve anything, as history seems to suggest that we are quite good at finding all sorts of pompous ‘reasons’ for squabbling and starting wars anyway.

    It would take a glitzy and superficial organization like the Papal Mainframe to want to further the idea that faith is all about beliefs, strength in numbers and building empire. I think a lot of people of faith have been moving away from that – those that actually did make that mistake – returning to the basic premise of personal as well as relational faith; being faithful to God and each other.

    What do you think?

    • thebutler said:

      Anyone?

      • Honestly, faith and religion are among my least favorite discussion topics, so I really have nothing to contribute here. I can see you’ve put some thought into your ideas, and for that I applaud you! I do think Deb’s comment about scheduled faith changes was a bit of an off-the-cuff jest (though I can’t speak for her), so I’d hesitate to read anything much into it as far as a plan for future humanity’s actual use. I’m pretty sure she doesn’t have any megalomaniacal plans to take over. (If she does, she’s not sharing them anyway.)

        Thanks so much for listening and taking the time to comment. Sorry I can’t be a discussion partner for you in this. I’m more about the enjoyment of the show than extrapolating too far outside of it as entertainment.

      • Thanks for your reply, Erika!
        I listened to the Splendid Chaps podcasts and it probably would’ve suited their episode on faith in Doctor Who more.
        I also watch Doctor Who for enjoyment. But I like to dive in and discuss the deeper stuff too. I’ll be keeping a close eye on Deb, haha!

  5. Now that I have an actual commute to work, I have been listening to podcasts on a daily basis. John from Mutterspiral Podcast recommended I give you all a listen. I am thrilled he did. I am thoroughly enjoying myself. I think the moderation is excellent, the comments are thoughtful and insightful (I don’t always agree, but I like how your comments aren’t about how “the episode was supposed to be like this” which drives me nuts, I think if you think it “should” be some way then write it yourself….oops didn’t mean to rant). In general I just wanted you all to know I really am enjoying myself. Thanks so much! Gee

  6. mikken said:

    I cried at Handles’ death.

    Eleven’s “death” was moving, but hit an odd note for me. This whole “other selves” thing was used (necessarily) for multi doctor episodes, but we are always told that he’s still the Doctor, the same person. When Ten reassured Rose that he was still him, just different, that’s cool. When Ten starts going on about “another man walking away with my life”, I’m like, “Huh?” Since when? Aren’t you all the same person? That’s like saying that my 20 year old self has walked away with my 10 year old self’s life and that’s just dumb.

    And now we have Eleven saying that he’ll always remember when HE was the Doctor. It’s becoming almost like they’re separate people, like it IS a title handed down or something…and I don’t like it. Eleven *almost* reassured Clara (that last reaching out and “hey”), but I’m going to headcannon that he knew she’d be ok with it because she knew about regeneration…still, it would have been nice to say *something* that wasn’t in the line of his life disappearing and someone else coming to take his place.

    So Dear Moffat – more cohesion on the whole “they’re all the same person”, please.

    As for the story on a whole, completely agree – needed a little more editing/pulling together/polish. Uneven and some strange bits/false notes.

    That said, the score was excellent and touched on so many different bits (yet brought them together), it was lovely.

  7. Ray Adamson said:

    Happy Birthday Verity!podcast!We venerate the exaltations of the mothers superious.Keep the faith.Elevenths hour is gone and Peter Capaldi is now.A new year and a new Doctor then.I didn’t have as many issues with Time Of The Doctor as most people apparently.It looked to me that it’s largest problems were the removal and insertion of Clara for narrative convenience but Moffat never had the production time to solve everything.I guess i shouldn’t be surprised at the exacerbated criticism of the haters as they were always likely to be antagonised by any celebratory tone in the writing.More smugness from Moffat is what i can hear from most of the Daleks,i think.It’s hard to ignore Daleks,they’re noisy.Especially when Moffat makes them blow up.As a last stand for the Eleventh Doctor,it was a glorious ,elegiac thing as the Doctor protected the planet where he was doomed to die from his worst enemies and a glorious tribute to Matt Smith.The emotional grace note of imaginary Amy appearing as his faculties finally failed him and Time finally beat him seemed particularly sad considering he was such a good imaginary friend when she was growing up.

  8. Leigh Rogers said:

    my new favorite doctor who quote is: ‘if you want something done, do it yourself’

  9. laurissy said:

    I feel the need to comment. First of all I loved your podcast. But I do feel the need to add a differing opinion this episode sucked. A bit of a context I have disliked the vast majority of the Moffat era and will be glad when it ends. Most of the problems I have with the moffat era do come from the writing but yeah I don’t like it. So I think a celebration of the moffat era was never gong to be up my street. But different strokes. I do genuinely think this episode was mediocre to bad with very few bright sparks.

    First of all clara. It’s kind of odd my sister hates clara with an all consuming passion, and everytime we’ve watched an episode with her in it. She says god she’s annoying when is she leaving. Meanwhile I have had you guys championing her as a character. It’s like having an angel and a devil on each shoulder. But before this I just thought she was mediocre but unfortunately my sister has won and unless something changes dramatically despite your dynamic defence of her I’m just waiting until she leaves. In this story she just seems especially annoying and it was just the straw that broke the camel’s back. It’s little things like the fact she clearly hasn’t read her father’s advice about cooking christmas dinner. Of course saying that if she was so unsure of herself why couldn’t she get them to hel her. The fact that she’s rude to her aunt/stepmother/pet zygon. She just cuts her down and then let’s her grandmother have a mini breakdown and then makes the whole dinner awkward. Basically worst host ever. But worst than that she cares so very little about her family especiallly her father who has already lost his wife and she treats her own life so recklessly. If something had happened to her then she would have died on christmas, her father would have never know what happened have christmas be ruined forever and to live a state of complete agony not knowing if his only child was going to be ok. This is a general problem I have with the Moffat era. I know people didn’t like the emphasis RTD put on the companions family. These people are wrong. Jackie Tyler is awesome and I will kill anyone who says otherwise. But in the Moffat era families are for the most part treated like window dressing they’re there to stand around and be mentioned occasionally if the plot demands it. I don’t know she comes across as really selfish. Also I hate the rom com sideplot of he’s my boyfriend seriously we’re using this trope, I think even rom coms have gone, we’re a little bit tired of this. It just makes her seem desperate and cliche and to me the last thing Clara needed was cliche who’s been bland throughout most of her time on the Tardis.

    God I remember when the angels touched you were screwed. Now apparently they can grasp you and you’ll be fine. The angels have gone from being lonely assasins to annoying garden furniture. I also wonder why the zygons didn’t infiltrate christmas and shoot him in the back to be honest considering how easily they were defeated in the anniversary story it would have given some poetic justice. I also hate the resolution seriously 300 years and he never thinks to ask them to go away. I personally like to think it’s susan pulling the strings. It was so sappy and it just comes out of left field and it’s such a mary sue moment for clara. Got to admit did not cry the only time I got anywhere near close to crying was handles death which was well handled. Even though amusingly I asked my family, so is handles a companion and this question was met with a resounding no. The second weirdly enough was amy because I hate amy pond way more than I hate clara but it fit and it worked so perfectly, it’s a pity the rest of the episode was so poor. The other thing is I think I laughed once and that was at the sontarans. I hated the naked joke, I’ll admit the wig joke was clever but not funny. It just wasn’t amusing. I didn’t care. That’s the main problem I don’t care about Clara’s christmas dinner. I don’t care about christmas because I don’t know anyone. I don’t care about the papal mainframe because I just found Tasha Lem annoying the whole way through and convenient to the plot. I am by no means a Doctor River shipper but this should have been River and the only thing you can really infer form this is that the doctor’s a player. Which is so undoctor. Also I genuinely want to punch whoever thought it was good idea for the doctor to grope clara. The doctor should not have any sexual attraction towards anybody. Romantic attraction ok with but he should have the libido of a eunuch. This is a tangent on what’s turning out to be a very long comment but the doctor being sexual, it adds a sinister edge to the doctor comapnion dynamic if the doctor travels with leela becuase he really likes her legs or with Rose because he like the way she looks in that track suit. It turns the doctor from a romantic hero showing someone the wonders and majesties of the universe to a douche who’s trying to get women that are dumber than him to satisfy him. It also turns the Tardis into a cheap pick up line. I may have to create a blog to write a whole article on this because it’s been annoying me for a while. Sorry this is so long and I hope you find this different prespective interesting and sorry for being so negative. Looking forward to your next podcast.

    • Emily said:

      Thanks for the perspective – it pretty much exactly mirrors mine, and it’s nice to see that. I’m tired of feeling all the time like I’m being so negative about this show that I love, but I refuse to feel bad about it, because I genuinely think the quality isn’t there. Or at least, it’s not the kind of quality that originally attracted me to DW.

      I don’t blame other people for liking the Matt Smith era, but I DON’T like being called a bad fan for hating…pretty much all of it. But the beauty of DW is that you can potentially loathe entire decades of it, and still be a hugely dedicated fan, haha. And change is the name of the game, so there’s always potential for it to change in the way you like in the not-too-distant future.

      So I’m waiting for Capaldi with bated breath, and loving the Big Finish audios as much as ever in the meantime.

      • Laurissy said:

        The problem is I don’t want to hate doctor who and be one of those fans that says the show is dead or even that I want RTD back. I don’t want RTD back. I prefer his era to Moffat’s but doctor who is about change and exploring different aspects of the show. My favorite eras are the RTD era and the Verity era of the first two seasons of doctor who which are completely different in terms of tone, mood, characters and everything really. I think the problem I found is that people I assume I hate the moffat era because I’m one of the fans that don’t like change and I’m just complaining because it’s different. That’s not the case for me. I’m fine with change, I just don’t like these changes. That doesn’t mean I hate Matt smith fans I wouldn’t be listening to this podcast if I felt that way. But I see a lot more flaws than positives and I will be really happy when Moffat moves on and I’m afraid that whilst I am looking forward to Capaldi. The problems that have haunted the Matt smith era will persist into capaldi’s. I’ve got to admit I know a lot of people who were very negative towards season 7b and a couple of people I know stopped watching. I don’t want to offend anybody but I’ll probably throw a party when Moffat announces he’s leaving doctor who.

    • Families in the Moffat era are window dressing?!? Um… Rory’s Dad anybody? Great character, terrific actor, sensitive portrayal, wonderful addition to the stories.

      Sorry Laurissy, when you write long and speak sharply, people are going to respond. I couldn’t disagree more with some of what you said, but I don’t feel like going over it point-by-point. I’m genuinely sorry you find it difficult to watch recent episodes of Doctor Who without having “issues”. I think your impression that it is all Moffat’s fault might be based on too narrow a view of the show.

      By the way, I think I started watching when I was 12 or 13 as well… but at that time the Doctor was played by Tom Baker. I bring that up for one reason: Is it possible your love for RTD and distaste for Moffat might have something to do with maturing tastes? I’m not sure I love anything now (except my daughter, surely) as much as I loved Larry Niven’s Ringworld when I was twelve years old. If you loved RTD when you were just entering your teens, and dislike Moffat as you presumably are in your college age years; can you name anything you liked then that you think is better now?

      • Laurissy said:

        I’m not going to lie and I have thought that part of the reason. I don’t like the Moffat era is that I have a lot of nostalgia for the RTD era. I was entering sixth form when the Moffat era started so my tastes were maturing and I’d lost my favorite doctor who’d been with me throughout my teens. I’ll admit I spent the whole of season 5 being rather petulant and being a lot more critical then I really should be. This ended when I watched the christmas carol which was a lovely piece and really showcased Matt smith as the doctor. Now looking back at series 5 there are some standout moments and episodes. Whilst I still have some issues with Amy and bits of characterization for the doctor. I’ll admit I was being too harsh. But to be honest I’ve recently re watched series 6 and it’s a lot worse than I remember it. The Doctor commits genocide, kills his ganger companion and is an accessory to murder/theft. I wouldn’t mind this so much if the show ever challenges the doctor on this but it doesn’t because we’ve got to wizz of to the next thing. Amy is such a passive and weak character in this season. Also I find the finale incomprehensibly stupid. I haven’t rewatched series 7 yet so maybe it will be better, I kind of hope so because series 6 was just painful. Now then are all my problems with the show directly linked to Moffat. No. I realize that any tv show is hard to make and requires lots of people just to get it on tv regardless of quality. Lots of people make doctor who what it is but considering the power and responsibility Moffat has when it comes to the show I feel fair blaming him for 80% of the problems I have with the show especially because most of those have something to do with the writing which he’s in charge of. If I loved this era then he could have 80% of the credit for that. I don’t think I’m being unfair. I think my criticisms are fair and I can give reasons about why I have them but at the end of the day it’s my opinion and it’s formed by my own prejudices, perspectives and emotions.

        So Rory’s dad. I like Rory’s dad but it doesn’t change the fact that Amy’s parents are bought back into existence just to pop straight back out of it again after one episode. Clara’s dad was written so thinly in the christmas episode and very little regard given to him as a character apart from the fact he’s Clara’s dad. Clara and Amy never are shown meeting them and god knows what Amy’s parents thought about being robbed of their grandchild and missing a good chunk of their child’s life. It just makes the characters come across as selfish as they so callously disregard the people around them. Rory’s dad is an exception because he’s the only parent in Moffat who that matters as more than a plot point. As I said I haven’t watched season 7 in a while but I do remember him being a breath of fresh air. However the fact that his goodbye was an extra rather than a part of the story. I feel is a disservice to the character and shows how little parents are regarded. I personally think it should be either/or either you have parents and give them meaningful interactions with their children like the RTD era. Or you don’t have parents like the classic era. I’m fine with both of these and both paths have their pros and cons but choosing this middle path means that you’re aware the parents are there but are never given anything to latch onto to make you care so they’re shallow plot points. So yes Rory’s dad is awesome but he’s the exception and I feel my problem with how all the other parents are treated are valid.

  10. Ray Adamson said:

    I sympathise with your personal disaffection with Doctor Who since Moffat assumed control of production but i find the aggression of the majority of criticism to be really disappointing,especially since it normally is based on comparisons with RTD’S writing and personal dislike as a result of media representation.It seems to me that a lot of fans behave as though we’re still living in the 1980’s and think it’s acceptable to treat Moffat in the same manner as JNT now.I really feel that the supposed journalism in allegedly humourous publications regarding Doctor Who’s production is very dubious and distasteful and it’s blatantly obvious that certain newspapers are keen to damage Doctor Who because of Moffat’s defense of the BBC at the Edinburgh Television Festival after James Murdoch’s lecture.Spoilers.

    • Laurissy said:

      I started watching the show when I was 12 and my first episode was Rose with christopher eccleston so I don’t know what 80’s fandom was like apart from hear say. I’ll admit that I think the RTD era is better in almost every way but I do realise that Moffat’s had to face thing like a slashed budget because of the cuts and plenty of other things. I’m sure. But I find the whole debacle with caroline skinner to be very disturbing. I hate to be a conspiracy theorist but I wouldn’t be surprised if in 10 years time a darker picture of this era emerges. I hope I’m wrong but I think that this era has lacked stability and finesse. I haven’t heard Moffat’s defence of the bbc but anyone who defends the bbc against Murdoch deserves praise and respect but that doesn’t the fact that I don’t find his era appealing. There are aspects of his era I find morally dubious, his characterisation can be very thin and most damnably of all I don’t enjoy it that much.

      • Mr Axon said:

        With regard to 80s fandom: in my opinion, the attacks on JNT were appalling. I think that many would agree that there were problems with that era, but the criticism was very fierce and carried to a personal level. But also criticism of Graham Williams at the end of the 70s was excessive (and, with hindsight, somewhat ridiculous), as was that targeted at RTD. It would be great if we could reflect on this. My own view is that there is a problem with making criticism personal, however much the more recent “showrunner” position requires a single person to take responsability for a high (too high?) number of aspects of the show (writer/script editor/producer/ambassador/celebrity etc….).

  11. Ray Adamson said:

    Anybody who perpetuates or substantiates those articles about Doctor Who from that publication online because of their opinions is hardly qualified to judge anybody else’s morals as far as i’m concerned.If you eat fish and chips off the paper they were printed on you’d drop dead from the poison and considering it’s damaging various people professionally and personally,it’s anything but funny.I’ve met all the people involved in the rumours personally so the whole thing is unacceptable to me.It shouldn’t have any relevance at all in a place dedicated to sensible and reasonable discussion of Doctor Who though.

  12. Happy New year, Verities! It’s been lovely having you all together for 2 episodes. You were all rather more positive about this episode than I felt, but I will probably rewatch it now I know there are some things I missed… For me the problems that Lynne and Erika (particularly) highlighted overwhelmed the bits that I liked. In a way it was a lot like all of season 7b for me – good ideas, some interesting plots, but somehow lacking in depth and emotion or something to make me CARE. But for all that, it’s still doctor who and I’m going to watch it.

    (A side note: although I agree that The Curse of the Black Spot is a very weak episode in a strong, amazing season, I enjoyed it more than every episode of 7b, except The Bells of Saint John… Ooh, controversial! I can’t wait for you to Defend The Curse of the Black Spot…)

    I’m excited about Capaldi, in part because I really need Clara’s role developed – I’m hoping that will happen with a new doctor. Everything the Verities seem to like about Clara for me seems to be only her POTENTIAL, not how she actually is! I adored Oswin and I loved Victorian Clara (at least for the first part of the episode, when she was proactive and kickass), but for me the modern Clara has been a huge disappointment. I never really believed that she and the doctor developed any kind of strong relationship, even though I kept being ‘told’ that they had. Jenna Coleman is obviously a talented actress and I feel she has been poorly served by the writers. I want more kickass Clara! With a Scottish Doctor!

    Finally, a point raised by my husband – what a pity that they didn’t cast a woman as the new Doctor, because reincarnating as a woman worked have really WORKED in the structure of this story!

    • I mean Regenerating!! Regenerating into a woman… (‘Reincarnating’ – sheesh, what was I thinking?). What with that and saying The Curse of the Black Spot isn’t irredeemably bad, you’ll all think I’m not a real fan!

  13. marty said:

    Watched “Lair of the White Worm” for the first time in 20+ years on Sunday featuring a very young Capaldi. He plays the bagpipes towards the end. so there ya go Liz! 🙂

    I liked Time of the Doctor… not my favorite, but still pretty good.

  14. I’m with Liz and Tansy on this one!

    However, I do think the Christmas special probably suffered a bit from such close proximity to the 50th. I also think it was probably a deliberate choice of Moffat’s to give Smith a calmer and more dignified exit than Tennant got, hence less overt tugging on the heartstrings.

    Having said that, I thought there were lots of very touching moments, but the whole thing was a bit more of a gentle farewell, and I loved the – BOOM – sudden regeneration. I can’t wait to see what Capaldi’s Doctor will be like. 🙂

  15. Ray Adamson said:

    Curious if the exception to the nudity humour may be directly associated with Clara’s embarrassment at the situation in the story.I thought that the comedy did make a real distinction between Amy and Clara as characters if you compare their separate reactions in The Eleventh Hour and Time Of The Doctor.I thought Pond was kind of all’Oh.so that’s what he would look like naked then and sort of impressed’ while Clara was ‘This wouldn’t be right even if i was blindfolded.Make it stop.Please.’ I expect it’s po faced fans complaining about overt comedy in Doctor Who really despite the fact Troughton was taking his clothes off to run into the sea in Enemy of The World.Matt Smith is always doing it whoever he plays though.He displays everything he’s got with Eva Green in Clone,three times in Doctor Who and even between murders in American Psycho he apparently takes his clothes off.It’s like it’s some kind of contractual obligation he has when he plays a character or something.

    • I didn’t mind the nudity in the Christmas special because it cemented, as you say, the fact that Clara is alarmed at a naked Doctor instead of checking him out. Her reaction in other words was identical to that of Rory in The Eleventh Hour – embarrassment and fluster – while Amy was more ‘I am going to take the opportunity to check out this naked man’ (I always feel that scene is more political than about her specific fancying of him). Of course, there’s no evidence that Amy and Rory’s eyeful was underpants-free which does change the situation somewhat. Nudity = character revelation & development!

      Don’t forget also the shower scene in the Lodger which ends up with Sophie checking out the damp Doctor in a towel!

      (the scene where Clara takes the Doctor apparently still naked to her family is a bit more excruciating than the one in the TARDIS, but I did giggle at her ‘he’s Swedish’ line which explains everything)

      I always tend to take the long view on these things – which is that we can take any amount of naked Doctor type exploitation before we balance out some of the gratuitous ways the female characters were treated in the 60’s and particularly the 80’s.

      • Ray Adamson said:

        Considering the frequent accusation that Moffats female characters are interchangeable,i thought it was worthwhile writing a comment especially since there was a lot of negative feedback about those scenes specifically.Personally i figured Amy idolised the Doctor to such an extent she might have wondered what he was like nude especially after puberty and being aware he was alien.I still find Clara to have a P.L Travers thing going on.She’s formal,conservative and responsible even in this contemporary incarnation for me.It’s kind of consistent with season sevens portrayal of The Doctor as some kind of problematic infant constantly upsetting domesticity and normality.Unconvinced about all the speculation regarding Tasha Lem and her similarities to River.Moffat must have intended to have some kind of figurehead for this church all the time and i can’t really see River Song as a nun although her mother used to dress up as one occaisionally.

      • Tansy, I totally agree with you! I was SO glad that Clara didn’t just check the Doctor out when he was naked. As I’ve been rewatching Smith’s era, I’ve just recently seen The Eleventh Hour and I was reminded how much it annoyed me when Amy leered at the naked Doctor. Stuff like that just doesn’t feel like Doctor Who to me (ditto when she tried to have her way with him at the end of Flesh and Stone), so it was refreshing to not see Moffat repeat that here.

  16. MacMillan said:

    I’ve only just in the past 2 months started listening to podcasts, so this is all rather new to me. Being a lifelong Doctor Who fan, the first thing I had to do was search for all the “Who” related podcasts. “Verity” was one of the first I listened to and is now the standard to which I compare all other podcasts. You ladies have created simply the best and most consistently entertaining podcast. It’s the only podcast that I’ve enjoyed enough to go back and start from the first episode. So congrats and thank you for putting together an amazingly entertaining podcast!

    Now let me pull out my tin foil hat and say that I like the idea of Tasha Lem being a later incarnation of River Song. With a little creative writing, I see no reason why the library mainframe into which River was uploaded couldn’t be a predecessor to the Papal Mainframe. Tasha Lem being the vessel that contains the downloaded mind of River Song. Lem could still be her own person but within her she has assimilated (not in the Borg way) the remnants of River Song’s uploaded mind. She may have even had a hand in her own creation, if she was the one who had River and friends sent to the library planet in the first place. It reminds me of Marc Remillard from Julian May’s Pliocene Saga and Galactic Milieu series. Hmmm, it might be time for me to read that series again.

    • You are the second person in the space of a month to remind me of Julian May’s books. Those two series are among my favorite ever, so I just LOVE that you drew that connection. I’m not much of a River fan, but looking at it from that angle does soften me to her a bit. I like the idea the more I think about it!

      And now I need to re-re-read The Saga of Pliocene Exile and Galactic Milieu books. (Yay!)

      Also, thanks for listening! I’m so glad you found us. Hope we continue to entertain you.

  17. […] sad, but I am a grown-up now. (Technically.) I can handle it. I have the Verity podcast episode, which I have a feeling I will be listening to more than once. Most importantly, I have the DVDs. […]

  18. The one detail I’ve been waiting for someone to mention is that Steven Moffat has given Matt Smith a great gift: By having him age to an old man in his farewell episode, he can now return for a multi-Doctor story anytime for the rest of his life. It can all be be explained within canon as him being plucked from this part of his timeline. I’m going to miss the Drunken Giraffe greatly. Despite all the Troughton comparisons, he always struck me as more in the Tom Baker vein. Tom will always be “my Doctor” but Matt Smith has earned a solid second place spot from me now (Sorry, Peter Davison). I can’t wait to see Peter Capaldi in the fall, though.

    • That “gift”, as you so aptly put it, never even occurred to me! That’s spectacular! Thanks for pointing it out. Whether it ever happens or not, it gives me a wonderful possibility to look forward to.

  19. […] Katrina recommends Episode 32 – Doctor Stew Is Required – “It features all of us, we all disagree (which makes for interesting listening), and I love the title and its origin.” If you like when people cordially disagree, and are able to discuss something they love while recognizing its flaws, this one is for you. […]

  20. I did not love The Time of the Doctor. I haven’t gotten to it yet in my Eleventh Doctor rewatch, but to me, it felt like a story I would have come up with when I was a young Doctor Who fan. Basically, the Doctor vs. all of his enemies, all shoved into one story. In that way, it’s similar to The Pandorica Opens and I didn’t think it worked there either. My first thought when they showed Clara’s apartment is “Why does her family live in the same council estate Rose and Jackie lived in?” It was CLEARLY the same location, which makes me wonder if the production team was really so lazy about finding shooting locations (assuming we wouldn’t notice) or is there going to be some future connection to why it’s the same location. Although it was nice to get explanations about so many things that happened throughout Smith’s era, I don’t believe Moffat was planning this build-up the whole time. I think he looked back and the corners he’d written himself into and then tried to explain everything away in one shot, which is another thing that adds to the messiness of this story. And did we really need to see Amy in a terrible-looking wig at the end? I get that she was the first person he saw in that body and can appreciate how that comes full circle, but it would have made much more sense if she was still his companion. At least they recognized that moment was only in his head though.

    As someone said above though, at least it ends on a positive note – CAPALDI! Looking forward to the start of Series 8!

Leave a Reply

