Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityExtraKateOmara-300This week’s Extra is somewhat melancholy. Join Deb, Erika, Katrina, Liz, and Lynne as we remember the Rani and pay tribute to the contribution of the late Kate O’Mara. Cold, sharp, stylish, snarky, and oh-so-delightful, the Rani is one of the Verities’ most beloved Gallifreyan villains. Why do we love her? What made her special? Can/should the Rani return in another guise?

^E

Download or listen now (runtime 28:33) 

Comments on: "Verity! Extra! – The Rani, Remembered" (5)

  1. Thanks for the eulogy of Kate O’Mara. Her small number of appearences belies the impact she has had, mainly because her portrayal of a villainous Time Lady is unique. Rodan was basically a bureaucrat, and very timid outside of her official duties, and while Romana was self-assured and well educated, she was clearly inexperienced and deferred to The Doctor on most things. The Rani was the first Time Lady who was The Doctor’s equal (or superior from her point of view), and her ruthless and methodical actions demonstrate she is quite capable. Plus Kate O’Mara’s sardonic portrayal of her disdain for The Doctor’s goody-goody behavior (and The Master’s obsession with him) is quite endearing. Kate will definitely be missed, but I hope there will be more of The Rani in future episodes.

    Now that I’m on walkabout, it’s especially nice to listen to Verity! when very few people around me speak English. It’s a little bit of home I can take with me 🙂 As long as I can find some WiFi once a week, I can keep downloading new episodes. Like last week’s on the Cybermen, which I still need to download for the second half. Flaky WiFi is a pain 😦

  2. Mandy said:

    What a lovely tribute to the late, great Kate.

    Matthew Sweet’s contribution to R4’s obituary show is worth a listen too –> http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006qpmv (his piece is about sixteen minutes in).

    I’ve mentioned before having seen Kate O’Mara on stage but reading/hearing the obits made me think of the gloriously awful 1980’s soap _Triangle_ [1]. I remember it vividly thanks to her topless sunbathing on the deck of a cross channel ferry during a rain storm [2].

    (In fact, the late 70s/early 80s combo of Jacqueline Pearce, Josette Simon and Kate O’Mara could be used to explain my sexual orientation. Louise Jameson in a chamois leather bikini didn’t hurt either. 🙂 )

    What’s amazing about O’Mara is how much she did, in TV and film as well as on stage. Look at her IMDB page [3] and you’ll see a list of beloved UK TV show of the 60s, 70s and 80s.

    You could chart the history of British action adventure shows through her career alone. Medical dramas and soaps too and she did her fair share of comedy as well. She was briefly in _The Plank_ short with a Who’s Who of British comedy greats, was great fun in _The Two Ronnies_* [4] and of course appeared in _Ab Fab_ later on.

    I could go on forever — can you tell? — but I’ll stop now.

    * Again, this doesn’t live up to Doctor Who podcasting standards of political correctness.

    [1] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triangle_%28TV_series%29
    [2] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-gmAloZDE8
    [3] http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0641817/
    [4] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rqc2trpYRP0

  3. Sarah B said:

    I love the Rani: I could definitely see her again with another actress. It would be a great memorial for Kate O’Mara, I think.

  4. fierceturtle said:

    Is there really going to be a Rani cosplay at Gally? Is there anything I can do to help make this happen?

  5. A great tribute for a wonderful actress. I have great memories of watching both of her Doctor Who stories when I was a kid, but I especially loved Time and the Rani. Although it’s historically derided by many, I loved this story as a kid and I still enjoy it now. Although we can’t see the lovely Ms. O’Mara in the role again, I’d still love to see the character come back on screen (though it’s great that Big Finish is bringing her back, too).

Leave a Reply

