Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode52The Capaldi goodness just keeps on coming! Join Deb, Erika, Lynne, and Tansy as we tackle what seems to be another divisive episode amongst Doctor Who fans, and the Verities are no different! Though we do disagree on parts of the story, we can all still come together on our love for Capaldi and Clara. And on our opinion that Deb may have a Moffat problem. (Sometimes an edit is just an edit–or IS it?)

What did you think of Listen? Let us know in the comments!

^E

Also covered:

Bonus links:
Doctor Who Legacy
Mary Sue
Erika on Grumpy Listen Fans

Download or listen now (runtime 1:31:51) 

Comments on: "Verity! Episode 52 – Listen to Your Heart(s)" (38)

  1. Tansy, Thanks for mentioning my blog re: The Elliott Chapman news!

  2. To add to the monster headcanon in the Doctor Who extended canon there is a child sized monster evolved to hide utilising inhuman speed called a Floof. It was created for a novel written by a certain Steven Moffat.

    http://tardis.wikia.com/wiki/Floof

  3. I’m not keen on recasting the original actors for the first three Doctors and companions.
    It was a wonderful touch for “Light at the End” but it doesn’t seem right to me. Especially for the third doctor because the sound-a-like for him in “Light at the End” didn’t sound like Jon Pertwee.

    I’d rather the BBC give them the rights to War, 9, 10 and (after a few years) 11.

    It does seem like Moffat will be leaving this series, I think this because it looks like Moffat is doing the ideas he’s always wanted to do, he has also co/written a lot of episodes this series, it’s looking like a last hooray for his era. Which I’m glad, in a way. I’ve liked his style at various points but It’s time for change. I’ve become tired of him trying put his mark across the entire franchise.

  4. I think this episode handled the “Clara broke the Doctor” moment well, but I do think some of the responses I’ve been seeing online might be assuming it’s a bigger deal than it is.

    Yes, the scene was shot and scored like an Important Moment, and there are direct parallels in the language used, but we don’t really know that Clara has “scarred”, “traumatized”, or somehow “invented the Doctor”. Trauma doesn’t work like that, simply whispering something to a child doesn’t mean it’s going to set them on an entirely new path, and we don’t know enough about the Doctor’s origins to assume this one moment is so huge. I choose to believe it was influential, but not necessarily formative.

    Besides that, the idea of constant fear as a motivation doesn’t really describe most of the previous Doctors, or at least it’s not foremost among the ways I would describe their behavior. I think it’s safe to read this episode’s timeline crossing as not insignificant, but not wholly redefining either

  5. scrawny_freak said:

    I think the reason Clara doesn’t tell the Doctor about Danny fits really well into the larger theme of fear. She’s afraid about what a relationship with Danny would mean in her life. Encountering the young Danny and Orson shows her that he is a big part of her timeline, but she can’t tell the Doctor without coming to terms with that fact on her own, which she does by the end.

  6. Am I the only one who thinks Danny and Clara won’t end up together now?
    It just seems too much of a face value impression from the Orson/Clara scene that wasn’t confirmed especially for a Moffat penned episode.

    Orson specifically mentions that only one of his grandparents told stories about time travel which means if Danny gets on the Tardis Orson would be just talking about him.

    Orson also never confirms that she’s a blood relation even brushing off that it’s a family heirloom. If you consider that Danny is an orphan who has severe trouble connecting with other people, Clara being considered family for helping him through that and taking him on the greatest adventures of his life would seen reasonable to me.

    Also his surrogate family being a very timey wimey team Tardis would explain why an apparent orphan still has family troubles.

    It could just be that Clara (whose life has being screwed up by time travel), Danny (the emotionally damaged war veteran) and The Doctor (the emotionally damaged war veteran whose life has being screwed up by time travel) forming some sort of support structure for each other would be fascinating to me.

    • sostorm said:

      I’m with you on that. I don’t think they’ll end up together in a forever way, even though I think they’ll hook up.

      A family heirloom can also be something that’s been handed down from generation to generation. So if Danny felt it to be important to him (which he seemed to thing) and handed it down to his kid, who passed it on further. That’d be a family heirloom even if Clara was in no way involved. Maybe he just recognise the pretty lady and the madman from his great grand parent’s story and passes it on to her because of that.

  7. @AnyOldJeff said:

    I think Erika more or less hit the nail on the head with the issue of the monster: I love the fact that we are never actually told with any certainty that there wasn’t some kind of monster. There’s room to believe that there actually was *something*, particularly at the end of time when the airlock door opens and The Doctor says he didn’t open it. Did I miss something or did we never find out how that door opened?

    Life doesn’t always give us clear answers. We may not know whether there was some kind of monster – even if his Clara-caused phobia for things under the bed might explain so much of his initial, too-long-alone hypothesis – but his investigation caused other things to happen that were important both for the development of The Doctor himself and for the relationship between him and Clara. On that note, I wondered whether the underlining of the word “Listen” on the blackboard at the end was him admitting he’d learned a lesson: there are times when he has to listen to others.

    Nice …

  8. I connected the sight of the young Doctor crying to his and Amy’s conversations, way back in “The Beast Below,” that “we never, ever get involved… unless children are crying.” Granted, one would like to think a compassionate person would help crying children regardless; but seeing Kid Doctor weeping adds some extra heft to that conversation.

    I’m convinced that, in some timey-wimey way, the Doctor himself is this episode’s monster. The evidence is potentially there in spades: Clara says the writing on the slate is the Doctor’s handwriting. The Doctor is the one who takes the attendant’s coffee. The voice outside the hatch says “Listen,” as does the Doctor several times throughout the hour. The Doctor enters Rupert’s room as suddenly and silently as the “monster.” He always thought he’d be the last man standing in the universe — maybe he is, and it’s him knocking on the hatch’s other side. Most compelling to me, he’s the other character who is – in this very episode! – hiding under a bedspread because he doesn’t want to be seen (crying). I think Moffat has hidden the answer (well, ok, one possible answer) in plain sight (just as she *explicitly* tells Rupert, “Guess what’s under the bed? Me!”) Yeah, the glimpse we get of it looks alien – but don’t you think it’s an alien with “attack eyebrows”?! And the Doctor is, after all, alien…

    I think it works thematically, too, to have the Doctor be the monster because, at this point in series 8, he is afraid of himself. “Am I a good man?” “I’m not a hero.” “I don’t like my face, who frowned this face for me?” Again, I don’t know how the logistics of it would work, and I’m ok with the mystery, too, but, as a metaphor, it works brilliantly (well, says me.)

    Thanks for another entertaining and enlightening discussion, especially your dissection of the Clara and Danny dynamics – can’t wait to see how that all resolves. (Deb, nice call on “Courtney” – I never thought of that!)

  9. Richard S. said:

    Possibly the most insightful & entertaining (non-Liz, ahem) Verity! podcast yet.

    Like Erika, I watched “Listen” whilst feeling not all that great, and with the lights switched on, and YES! EXACTLY!, I really got irritated with those fractured points of view… and also with being distracted by all the (probably deliberate playing on viewer assumptions by the) rehashing of iconic scenes from New Who.

    I think it was the second restaurant scene that broke the story for me. I was just calmly hoping that Danny would notice Clara had lost her jacket, and then…

    Hey, lookee-here, it’s the beckoning figure from “The Impossible Astronaut” wearing the pressure suit from “The Impossible Planet”, and you KNOW it’s going to be an older character played by Samuel Anderson because he appeared like that in last week’s Next Time teaser…

    But why are none of the other diners reacting to this strip-o-gram in a biohazard suit gatecrashing such a classy joint (no, don’t answer that, they’re probably clockwork anyway), and then…

    Surprise! the TARDIS has moved from its unnoticed landing outside the restaurant to an unnoticed landing inside the restaurant, and suddenly, because the Doctor found new info from the console and went off without telling us, which is NO FAIR…

    Suddenly, we’re in a remake of “Midnight” at the End of the Universe which, curiously, still contains enough stable elements to make a star and a planetoid, despite what Bidmead’s episodes and Stephen Baxter’s hard SF novels have REPEATEDLY tried to tell everyone about the likely entropic end of everything into a thin soup of nothing but decaying sub-sub-subatomic particles, and…

    Happy place. Happy place. Think happy thoughts. Think happy scenes.

    All those cool references to H.G. Wells (Orson as in Orson Welles’s War of the Worlds broadcast, the timeship at the end of everything from The Time Machine)…

    …and M.R. James’s “Oh Whistle And I’ll Come To You” (the shape made out of sheets, which I am trying really hard not to associate with Linus’s security blanket and “It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!”).

    That wonderful, convincing, reassuring, believable scene with Jenna & Peter & Remi Gooding.

    The realisation that the barn is actually THE Barn!!!

    I think “Listen” will be one of those stories I’ll enjoy much more now that my expectations have been given a thourough, Moffaty, un-reality check.

    I also think Orson is Danny/Rupert with amnesia because these maiden-mother-crone archetype characters always come in threes, them’s the rules of proper storytelling… and the schoolgirl, Cameron?, she will become an everso pivotal character in the next two or three or four seasons.

    (Note to The Jeff Sentence, and Spoiler Alert to the Moff Haterers: in case no one else has mentioned this yet, Moffat has been teasing the readers of DW Magazine that they’ll never guess the cliffhanger ending that he has thought up for NEXT year’s penultimate ep, so it looks like he’ll be around at least til Xmas 2015.)

  10. sostorm said:

    I think the Clara/Danny thing is a Moffat trick. I try to not be paranoid but it feels like that. I mean it was only said that one of his great grand parents used to tell a story. I’m betting it’s the big story Danny tells about that ONE time he got to go on an epic time and space adventure. I just get that feeling, it’s never this simple with Moffat.

    I love Clara with the kids. I also really like how she treats the Doctor. Telling him off when he needs to be told off. I like their bickering but it’s starting to rub me the wrong way that he almost only uses insults about her looks while she’s way more versatile about her insults.

    The new Doctor is insane. I like it but come on, the coffee thing, that’s really mean.

    I feel like the ending fell a bit short, much like the Robot of Sherwood. This one held up much better on a second view though.

  11. Richard S. said:

    Oops, sorry, the schoolgirl is Courtney, played by Ellis George.

  12. Thank you for continuing to deliver quality podding! Hey, could “Poddingheads” be a thing? 🙂

    I am also 4 for 4 so far. This episode wasn’t as much fun as last week’s romp, but that obviously wasn’t the intention. But I love the fact that we got an introspective episode that got deep under the Doctor’s skin, and Clara’s too. I think that with Capaldi, we can actually have a vulnerable Doctor without plunging into the mawkish self pity that has tended to crop up in New Who from time to time. Whether that comes from Moffat’s writing or Capaldi’s performance, or a bit of both, I don’t know, but I welcome it. As a mid-40s viewer, I think I’ve seen quite enough of the teen angsty Doctor. Let’s have some mid-life crisis Doctor now. 🙂

    Oh, and I definitely think there was a monster, and we haven’t seen the last of it. I had the strong suspicion at one point that it was going to be revealed as the monster from ‘Twilight’, but that didn’t happen. But we’ve got eight more episodes to go…

    • I meant ‘Midnight’ instead of ‘Twilight’, of course. Let’s not have any sparkly vampires in Who please!

      • I’m sure Moffat could make sparkly vampires work in Doctor Who if he wanted too.. 🙂

  13. I didn’t completely agree with what was said about the “banter” between the Doctor and Clara… I do think that they’re going for a familial tone and that in some cases it works really well (I laughed really hard at the line about needing three mirrors) but I think it’s not being handled as well as it could be. For one thing even though she doesn’t seem too bothered by his insults I feel like it’s not very even, I can’t think of times when she’s jabbed back at him. Also, I don’t like how the ways he insults her seem to be so frequently based on her appearance. Besides the wide face joke, in this episode there was the exchange where he insisted that she’d taken off her makeup, which I thought was over the line in its rudeness, considering how upset she was at the moment.
    To connect it with what Deb said about how this sort of friendly insulting banter is usually shown between male characters in media, I could say it’s telling that when we have it between a man and a woman, he is insulting her more than vice versa, and often doing so in a particularly gendered way. Maybe I’m reading too much into it, but this continuing pattern in their dialogue is making me uncomfortable.

    Anyways, that aside, I really enjoyed “Listen”. I love that it’s left ambiguous to the viewer whether or not the “monster” was real. I have decided to fall in the headcanon that whatever was under the sheet was indeed, a malevolent alien presence — but the majority of the Doctor’s concerns and theories about it were wrong. It’s not this pefect hiding thing that lurks underneath your bed that gets into everyone’s nightmares, it was just … something mysterious and possibly malevolent that happened to be there at that time, which fed into the Doctor’s paranoia. But the idea of these “perfect hider” creatures being everywhere at all times, and the dream about something being under one’s bed, none of that was true. That makes the most sense to me personally.

  14. Hmmm. I think I posted a comment but maybe not. If I did, just delete whichever one I sound least cool in.

    Anyway, commenting whilst listening which will doubtless bite me…

    I think the Clara and Danny storyline is around finding a common language, rather than solely around Clara.

    Clara always acts and talks like she is in a George Cukor screwball. She wise-cracks, she looks for the next whip smart line, and doesn’t take anything seriously. She *banters* (imagine Capaldish sneer). She’s being the Perfect Companion.

    Danny, however, is from a whole other genre and he takes things seriously. So that’s why they are failing to communicate – they’re from different worlds.

    What I’m hoping is that *both* of them change rather than Clara being Danny’s Magic Pixie Girl who resolves all his trauma through her perkiness. She’s the Doctor’s Magic Pixie Girl but Danny doesn’t want or need that, and it’s not a solid basis. So Clara stops smirking through the apocalypse, but Danny starts to relax.

    Essentially, yes, it’s the classic “companions meets love interest, decides to leave” plot but spun over a season or two rather than Leela suddenly fancying Andred.

  15. Andrew W said:

    Good afternoon all: long time listener / first time commenter here.

    There are a few plot ‘smudges’ that my head canon had trouble with in this episode: mainly how is access to Gallifrey even possible? But these things don’t really bother me because I bloody-well love the experience of watching new Who before dawn [in Australia we get it broadcast live with UK time meaning 4.30am].

    The [literal] darkness only heightened a great ghost story that we never learn the answer too. Maybe we’ll find out later in the series but I hope we don’t. Like Midnight spooky Who works best [for me] when we are left questions of who, what and why did these things happened / occur. This is where my imagination is let loose into a wide and wonderful universe and i love it.

    The scene with the young Doctor crying had a beautiful symmetry to it and I gasped out loud when we found out it was him and again [even louder] when we found out it was the barn the War Doctor goes to end the Time War.

    So to sum up: I’ve let go of what didn’t add up quite right [astronaut unnoticed in a restaurant, landing in Gallifrey (if it was Gallirey?) to name a couple] and sat back and enjoyed it as a fanboy. Loved it the first time, head canon wobbled on the second, but then let go and loved it even more on the third time.

    Keep up the great work: love this podcast! [I’m all out of superlatives at the moment, but they all apply to Verity!]

  16. If you have issues with Moffat changing Doctor Who canon you should have a look at this article it might not change your opinion but it’s an interesting look at how it can be seen as an integral part of the show.

    Also just as a personal comparison I’d like to know what people who disliked the barn scene thought of End of Time? As it involves the breaking of the Time Lock and the entirety of The Masters life being attributed to one event.

    http://junkee.com/doctor-who-recap-a-lesson-in-how-to-upset-the-fanbase/41631

  17. James said:

    Watching Listen, I started to think that missing two years from Clara’s journal was going to become an important part of the episode. It wasn’t, but I still think that gap might feature later in the series and not end up as Moffat duck pond.

  18. Henrik said:

    It was just a weird kid under the covers, right?

    I’ve freeze framed it and it’s just a blurry blob. At first I thought it looked like a weird wide brownish almost E.T. -like alien head. But it’s not. That’s the power of suggestion.

    Great episode. Tense. Creepy. Touching like all get out. And funny. I wasn’t entirely onboard at first, because the very idea of the monster seemed a little outlandish and magical even for a show like Doctor Who but that ending tied everything together wonderfully.

    I’m also loving the fifth season of Coupling.

    It’s not the best episode ever. But it’s definitely great.

    It will be interesting to see if Orson’s family history with time travel is a hint that Clara and Danny do eventually hit it off or that Danny ends up travelling a bit with the Doctor or both or just that he figures out he technically met Clara 20 years ago and tells his kids.

    • microtoast said:

      I’ve freeze-framed it too, and I still maintain that it WAS in fact a big wide brownish alien monster head 🙂

      • Henrik said:

        Yeah, but it’s sooooo out of focus and blurry though!

        Potential spoilers, maybe? I looked up who was cast for the part of whoever was under the bedspread. Is that a spoiler? It might be? I mean, I’m sure that part of the point of the episode is that we don’t know if there was a monster at all and probing, whoever shallow that probing, into how the potential monster was created is outside any information actually put on screen so…

        POTENTIAL SPOILER, MAYBE, I GENUINELY DON’T KNOW:

        Apparently the “Figure” was played by a reasonably well known actor called Kiran Shaw. Shaw is resolutely not a child at 57 so they might have cast him either because it will be a returning monster involving heavy make-up and prosthetics or because they knew that the part would be entirely out of focus and they couldn’t ask a kid to spend long shooting days under a bedspread.

      • microtoast said:

        Hmm, that’s interesting. Kiran Shah was Frodo’s double in Lord of the Rings, for when they wanted the height difference to be apparent in wide shots. So he could very well be meant to look like a child under there, even though he is 57.

        MORE POTENTIAL SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!! BEWARE!!!

        I did get a hold of the workprint version of this episode to check the scene there and compare it. It’s not reliable of course, but I was curious – in my opinion, it looks just as alien, though it appears at a slightly different angle. It’s wide and has weird angles…so unless it’s Rupert’s friend under the covers wearing a biker helmet or something (which isn’t impossible, but rather random), it’s looking very non human to me. In the end, though it’s not as blurry, it’s not really an earth shattering giveaway.

    • lbphilly said:

      I watched it streaming so wasn’t able to freeze frame, but I would swear I saw Edvard Munsch’s screamer. Pale with dark blobs for eyes.

  19. In a funny way, this episode had more of Mark Gatiss’ fingerprints on it than the last one, even though he didn’t write this one! There were moments of pure ‘Jamesian horror’ in it, which I absolutely loved, and if anyone has not yet watched not only Gatiss’ adaptation of ‘The Tractate Middoth’ and his excellent documentary on MR James from last winter, go do that now! The scene in Rupert’s bedroom was a nice nod to the climax of James’ ‘Oh, Whistle, And I’ll Come To You, My Lad,’ and its non-explanation was not dissimilar.

    (As an aside for MR James fans, I’ll also plug the excellent A Podcast to the Curious – but back to Doctor Who!).

    All in all, I really loved this episode at first viewing, and think it will grow in the re-watching, once we’ve seen where this season goes. It will be interesting to see if this is one my 9 year old wants to revisit again and again, although he declared (after the fact) that it was ‘not scary at all’), despite asking to sleep in a different room…

  20. Nice job on the podcast. Keep being surprised that none of the reviews I’ve seen talk about the consequences of Clara’s repeated lies in Listen. I think Deb raised annoyance with why she just didn’t tell the Doctor about her connection to Rupert/Orson, that it was done just to drive the story along. I agree but I think it wasn’t done just for this episode, but for future ones too.
    She repeatedly lied to the Doctor about this connection, and I can’t see that he’s going to be happy about that at all. Especially when it resulted in changing the outcome of Ruperts life.
    So I think Moffat is brewing up to the moment when the Doctor finds out about Danny. And when he finds out who her boyfriend is, I think her time in the TARDIS will be in jeopardy.

    • I kind of think this Doctor would be more likely to turf Clara out of the TARDIS *because* she started talking about her love life. I’m not sure why on earth anyone thinks he would be interested – except for the Orson connection but even then, it’s hard to see why it makes a difference.

      Unless the Doctor turns up in Clara’s timeline because he is in fact the great great great great grandson of Orson. Oh wow. Imagine all the fan heads exploding over that one.

      Moffat: the Doctor is half human after all – MIC DROP (quits the show) (retires to Himalayan mountainside)

  21. Neowhovian said:

    In reference to Deb’s ending speculation about Danny’s “family business,” I want to say that I’d noticed that line, too. But somehow it never even dawned on me that there was a discrepancy between his mention of family and the fact that they found him in a children’s home; I was too caught up in the family I’d been surmising he had since Into the Dalek.

    What if he’s talking about Journey Blue?

    Yes, that’s some weird, Moffat-induced insanity leading to that hypothesis, but the man does have an affinity for oddly similar names among family (see: Pond / River). It niggled at me the second week of the series, and it made my Plot Point Radar ding again when he mentioned family this time. I rather hope I’m on the wrong track, but so far it still seems feasible.

  22. Wow, thank you all! I had so many opinions about this ep but all of your insights have moved me to give it a 2nd watch. Especially the idea that there really WAS a monster but that the Doctor is willing to let it be. That makes even more sense if he imprinted on Clara as a child and therefore listens to her. Is THAT the true meaning of Listen? That he needs a companion to listen to?

    Is it possible that Clara didn’t tell the Doctor what was going on with Orson because she knows him well enough to not trust him? If she’s screwed up and broken a Time Law by crossing Danny’s timeline then the Doctor could very well pull an “I’m sorry, I’m so, so sorry” and banish him to the end of the universe and out of her life forever.

    I assume that kid Courtney is related to Danny. Maybe he doesn’t know it yet. Maybe he’s been searching for a long lost sister he never knew. Probably something tragic Clara has also messed up in his timeline.

    The only thing that turned this from an episode that I loved to “ew, ick” is the concept that Clara is the most important companion ever (NOBODY knocks Sarah Jane off the pedestal of my heart!) I was hoping that had ended with the 11th Doctor and now we could just get a pal that he hangs out with. That said, I’ll take any frickin’ piece of Gallifrey I can get.
    And since listening to your dissection, I’m going to give it another shot. Maybe this really is the greatest episode of the season. Or not. Who. KNOWS?

  23. Enjoyed “Listen”. It was a good episode. If you get to see it without commercial breaks the tension just builds and builds. It’s wonderful 🙂 Wherever the Clara/Danny thing goes should be fun and interesting.

  24. Anniew said:

    I so agree that the Doc was the monster. There is going to be a battle at some point with good and bad Docs. The theme of power being for good or evil is a constant one in Who. I can but should I ? Am I a good man is something that only the Doc can decide ( or choose) and a lot of the Capaldi introduction is about what’s going on inside the Doc’s head. Missy and Clara represent parts of Doc’s psyche – sacrifice yourself and the world will be a better place ( welcome to heaven). Fear makes companions of us all ( together in hell). But in Moffat world hell is more honest than heaven. I mean should anyone ask someone to sacrifice themselves for the greater good? Can anyone promise them the greater good? What are the consequences of these expedient solutions in the long term? Not entirely clear about it all but think I’m on to something!

    I do love the Capaldi Doc but does anyone else find his performance lacking the relaxation that comes with settling into the part? Sometimes it seems that his acting is more intellect than instinct at the moment so I appreciate it rather than forget he’s acting. I find myself think Gosh that reaction’s clever/interesting/brave rather than Oh of course, that’s what the Doc would do/feel/decide.

  25. Anniew said:

    Oh and it’s the barn in his head, the Galifrey in his head we’re visiting. his memories doubts fears megalomania lies, truths. He’s like the parent of the Galaxy with the same doubts that we all have as parents – did I screw my child up? Should I have pushed more or less? Did I listen enough? Am I a good parent.

    And Clara lied because like all young girls, she doesn’t want Dad putting his oar in until she’s sure that she’s in a relationship that’s serious.

  26. Fascinating discussion, verities and commenters! This is certainly an episode that provides food for thought.

    I personally was terrified by this episode (I have a history with scary Moffat stories giving me nightmares…), so the non-spooky resolution was such a relief! On a second viewing I realised that there was more ambiguity about the monster(s) than I had thought, and I LOVE that! A part of me, like Erika, really wanted there to be a monster.

    What I find most interesting about this episode is that it turns what I believe may be Perceived Fan Wisdom on its head: the general consensus seems to be that Moffat stories are plot-driven but frequently character-deficient and/or a bit ‘off’ on the emotional content, while the RTD era (and his stories in particular) are emotionally rich and character-driven, but can have plot holes a mile wide… Of course that’s a generalisation, but ‘Listen’ shows that Moffat CAN write a story where character and emotion are front and centre, and the plot is actually secondary (but of course he can’t resist making it twisty and timey-wimey, because he’s Moffat!) Perhaps that’s why it’s so divisive – it’s a Moffat story that in some respects is ‘really Moffat’, and in others doesn’t quite feel like a Moffat story?

    I am enjoying this series much more than 7b, and I really can’t tell whether it’s the writing, direction, or performances – most likely a combination. Capaldi feels like one of the Doctors of my childhood, and Jenna Coleman’s Clara is now rivalling some of my favourite companions – I have wanted to like her for so long, and now she’s more flawed and interesting, I love her!

    PS Yay Deb for the mention of Sleepy Hollow – it’s such an interesting TV show in so many ways, but I hadn’t noticed your point about information sharing, which actually happens quite often in the show.

  27. BeckyB said:

    In the past eight weeks I’ve inhaled all of the Doctor Who reboot, have read and watched everything I can to catch up in this wonderful new fandom, and now I’ve discovered your podcast and it’s like I have a new set of girlfriends to talk about the show with. So the answer to why I talk out loud when I’m alone is because I’m listening to Verity and can’t hold in my own ideas and responses to their conversation. Thanks.

    • I’m so glad you found us!

    • Hi Becky! Welcome to both the Doctor Who and Verity! fandoms 🙂
      I do the same thing when listening to all the fabulous Verities. Guess I want to put in my two cents worth too…

Leave a Reply

