Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode58Welcome to what’s probably the least enthusiastic episode of Verity! this series. Join Deb, Erika, Katrina, and Tansy as we mull over what we thought of this episode. While there are no real strong feelings about the story, we’re unanimous in our appreciation of the direction of Sheree Folkson. If nothing else, this was a gorgeous episode! And of course, we make time for some more examination of the Danny-Clara-Doctor triangle.

What did you think of “In the Forest of the Night”? Were you swept away by the fairy tale? Or bored by the twee? Let us know in the comments!

^E

Also covered:

Bonus links:
Abandoned amusement parks
Erik Stadnik, of Doctor Who: The Writers’ Room and The Doctor Who Book Club Podcast
Verity! Revelry group
Gmork scene from The Neverending Story

Download or listen now (runtime 1:31:16) 

Comments on: "Verity! Episode 58 – The Tyger Sleeps in the Forest of the Night" (26)

  1. Y’all are so kind! I didn’t look at the show notes before I pressed play, and *may* have shrieked like a tween at a Bieber show when I heard the shoutout to my Catster piece. I write about kittens and puppies on the internet all day; it’s my job, you know, but all I want to do, naturally, is write about Doctor Who. How in the world would I swing such a thing? Fortunately, my editor is a lifelong Doctor Who fan, so I was over the moon when she approved the pitch for cats who look like Peter Capaldi.

    nb: My last name’s been butchered all my life; I’m used to it, but, just for reference, it’s pronounced “pen-yuh.”

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to get back to running around the house, flailing my arms, and shouting about having made a happy-thing on Verity.

    • and that’s what i get for rewinding that one bit over and over – listened to the rest of the podcast while walking my puppy, and thank you, Erika, for the pronunciation correction that came a bit later!

  2. Saxon Brenton said:

    Actually, at the time that Verity has its regular weekly release, the Indiegogo Doctor Puppet fundraiser will have less than a day to run. So as a matter of urgency anyone interested in that project needs to go follow the url link NOW!

    On the matter of the ‘In the Forest of the Night’, it was indeed a quiet episode with very little action. I’m fine with an occasional story like that, although I can see why other people might not be. I did like the way that the William Blake theme was extended beyond the title and the obligatory tiger, to also cover Blake’s Songs of Innocence and Experience: while the experienced adults where ineffectually trying to destroy the trees, the innocent children were issuing the advice that people just needed to trust more.

  3. I was okay with the medication thing because a large point of the episode was listen to children so it came off to me as listen to childrens problems instead of immediately medicating them. My mind went to the false diagnosis of ADHD rather than the anti-vaxxers.

    The episode itself was a little bright and breezy for my tastes but it had some nice character moments. At this point bright and breezy seems good considering where going from some real gut punch episodes to what looks like a very scorched earth finale.

    I still think Deb has some weird Danny bias. Danny seemed rather at peace with his life (especially for a guy with PTSD) than passive aggressive when talking to Clara. To me he seems weirdly ready to tell Clara to go with the Doctor for someone being jealous, petty etc.

    It could just be than Danny encouraging Clara to stay friends with the Doctor in MotOE stuck with me whilst Danny’s comments in The Caretaker stuck with Deb.

    • I’m likewise OK with the medicines. I think the missing sister existed so Maubh has a traumatic reason for being on drugs. Had it been a lifelong condition then the message “throw away your inhaler/ beta blockers” would exist. As it is, it says someone who has experienced a traumatic event should be listened to, not silenced.

      In terms of back-chat from the kids, if you can see a set of programmes from Channel 4 called “Educating…” Then you’ll see how kids of that age behave in the UK. “Educating the east end” is the most recent run. I’d say the least realistic element was the lack of swearing!

      I have to say I loved this episode: for all it’s hand waving of science, Who rarely does full on magic realism.

  4. Gary Schaper said:

    My favorite word for the day is “Clarapalooza”.

  5. I was a bit ‘meh’ about this episode too. This episode of Who that is, not this episode of Verity!

    I think a problem for me is that I love wandering about in the woods, and don’t find them at all scary. Mind you, The Blair Witch Project manages to make being lost in the woods completely terrifying. I wonder if maybe the writer had the notion that this story would have taken place at night, which would have ramped up the scares significantly, I think. But setting the whole thing in bright daylight just makes it look like a jolly walk in the woods. Having the characters talk about primal dread isn’t quite enough to create a sense of dread in the audience!

    I thought the cast were all fine but the central premise was a bit wonky (trees covering the oceans??) and the message was a bit clunky and simplistic too – I love forests as much as the next fellow, but the human race wouldn’t have come very far without wood. So I think that message could have been delivered with more subtlety. Cut down SOME trees but make sure you plant some more!

    And I didn’t like the implications of Danny’s speech either. It seemed to me to be saying that we shouldn’t explore other worlds, we should just learn to appreciate this one. Can’t we do both?

    I didn’t hate the episode, I just thought it was very mediocre, especially in this season where the general standard has been so high. I hope things will be back on form for the two part finale!

    Oh, and I don’t think we were supposed to take that “masculine figure” comment at all seriously. I think the pause after “masculine” and Capaldi’s arch performance were clearly designed to draw attention to the fact that he is NOT an overtly masculine figure.

    I like refried beans too! 🙂

  6. […] Verity! Episode 58 – The Tyger Sleeps in the Forest of the Night WHOOGLE shared this story from VerityPodcast.com. Welcome to what’s probably the least enthusiastic episode of Verity! this series. Join Deb, Erika, Katrina, and Tansy as we mull over what we thought of this episode. While there are no real strong feelings about the story, we’re unanimous in our appreciation… […]

  7. I enjoyed the episode up until the reveal of how the trees would protect the world (fire and oxygen don’t work that way, and anyway a solar flare isn’t fire). One of the things I definitely enjoyed was the “human blindness” — I’m somewhat face-blind, and while I wouldn’t have had quite as much trouble as the Doctor did in picking Maeve out of the group of kids, I almost certainly would have mistaken no-imagination-girl for her. At least, unless I happened to remember that Maeve’s jacket was red. (Which I didn’t catch on to until someone mentioned it on Radio Free Skaro…)

    Face blindness is associated (in some cases) with the autism spectrum, and a lot of the Doctor’s “rudeness” this season strikes me as being much closer to autistic cluelessness about personal interaction than actual callousness. A lot of his comments about Clara’s appearance (the three mirrors, noting the roundness of her face, being unable to tell if she’s made up or not, mis-attributing differences in her appearance to “having a wash”, etc) all feel like someone who’s not able to parse human appearance quite right.

  8. lbphilly said:

    I like what James Redkop says (above) about face blindness, autism spectrum, and cluelessness-as-rudeness. One of the things that I have really liked about this Doctor is his inability to read people. It’s so beautifully alien, his inability to make sense out of the ambiguities and self-contradictions we humans inflict on each other. I’m also completely on Team “Think Twice About the Meds.” Certain meds are seriously overprescribed and I had to fight tooth and toenail against a knee-jerk diagnosis of ADHD and a Ritalin prescription for a bright and bored kid once.

    I totally loved this episode, probably for many of the reasons that many others were kind of “well I didn’t dislike it” about it. It wasn’t scary and nobody died or even got hurt much. I thought there was great character development in this episode, as everyone got a little more comfortable in their own skins. Danny’s speech at the end didn’t strike me as the least little bit passive-aggressive; I read it as Danny explaining why he’s comfortable with his own choices. In fact, I think he was encouraging Clara to relax and be a little less defensive — dishonest, even — about her desire to go off with the Doctor.

    There were some lovely companionable Doctor / Clara moments in the TARDIS and, later, in her apartment that I liked a lot. I can picture Clara going off to see Danny after the credits rolled to say okay, I’m not giving up the Doctor and let’s talk about how things might work. In short, I saw three characters that ended the episode a little more comfortable with themselves and each other than they were at the beginning, and I liked it a lot. (Okay, maybe not Danny and the Peacock, but we can’t have everything.)

    The other thing I really really liked about this episode? It was a lovely calm pause at the top of the trestle before the roller coaster plunges this coming week. I really want to slap the too-dark eye makeup right off that Missy person and I’m not at all looking forward to seeing more of her, whether she turns out to be the Rani, the Master, the Valeyard, Tasha Lem, Dark Clara, or the Wicked Witch of the West.

  9. Richard S. said:

    Setting aside all of the plot problems, such as lack of tension & unresolved mysteries, that you discussed in this week’s podcast… my overall impression of the episode was that I *could* set them aside and enjoy this story, because of the overall strength of the acting and dialogue and the wonderfully ingenious set dressings.

    I didn’t even mind the science, sorry the ahem) air-quotes “Science”… There was a mention of Coronal Mass Ejection tossed into the air like a Frisbee for me to run after, wagging my tail, while the major handwaving took place.

    The scene where Danny & Clara were at the front of all the kids, in contravention of all known child safety advice — you don’t need to be a parent (I’m not) to find that behaviour strange, you just have to watch the nightly news to see that it’s conspicuously wrong.

    Likewise, I winced at the scene of the Doctor advising against medication, although it does echo a somewhat controversial article, published a year ago in Scientific American’s MIND magazine, on the subject of the medical profession needing to pay more attention the life-issues that contribute towards schizophrenia, rather than just trying to medicate a chemical imbalance back to the status quo.

    (Controversial article, and I’ll admit I might be oversimplifying it for commenty effect.)

    On the whole, the kids were terrific and they made the episode for me. The line about Anger Management really cracked me up. Interesting to read in the latest DWM (479) that Frank Cottrell Boyce (hyphen? no hyphen?) took a lot of the their dialogue from the kids’ own audition tapes. So, if they were too quippy, it’ll be from their own skills learned at drama school or from too many hours of RTD on CBBC.

    I’m still siding with Kat on the subject of Danny being a generally good bloke who thinks what’s coming out of his mouth is the entirely correct reaction to the given situation. Foreshadowing: If only Danny taught Maths then he might be able to help the Doctor with all those complicated equations. But, he’s a P.E. teacher, so…

    My eyes keep being drawn to the mystery woman’s cameo brooch, which seems to depict the head of Classic Who’s The White Guardian, enemy of The Black Guardian, which can mean only one thing. The identity of Missy is:

    Nyssadrickamelion Vislor-Jovanka, the half Time Lord, all-cyborg offspring of Tegan & Turlough. And, really, I know Moffat loves retconning the past… but to troll JN-T’s ironclad NO Hanky-Panky rule! How the very dare he!

    Disclaimers: growing up in the 1970’s, my favourite authors were Terrance Dicks & Alan Garner, so In The Forest of The Night slotted right slap-bang into the heart of my wheelhouse.

    Also… the episode was set in an area I know pretty well from my three years at college in South Kensington in the mid-1980s. I was lucky enough to live across the road (Exhibition Road) in my first year, and fairly close-by in Fulham & Earl’s Court in my second & third years. So, my most convenient supermarket was the Sainsbury store on the street that featured most prominently in the set dressing, Cromwell Road.

    And, yes, frequently when I was in that Sainsbury’s for my Saturday morning shop, I would find myself in the surreal act of wheeling my own shopping trolley around that of the famous star of cult TV and The Faceless Ones, the lovely Wanda Ventham.

    And, no, I can’t remember if I ever saw her accompanied by a stern-faced yet charismatic youth, somewhere between the ages of 9 & 12, who would one day grow up to become…

    The World’s Greatest Detective!

    Of whom one must NEVER speak, at least in the presence of Deb.

  10. bekitty3 said:

    A couple of things I noticed, mostly to do with Maebh:

    Firstly, did anyone else catch that her surname was Arden, which means “forest” in Latin? It’s most likely a reference to Shakespeare’s Forest of Arden in “As You Like It”.

    Secondly, (and this is mostly to Deb), her first name is spelt Maebh, but it’s a Welsh name and the “bh” is actually a “v” sound. So it’s pronounced Maeve, not Maeb.

    Thirdly, and yes I KNOW that the way Maebh ran waving her hands around her face was more likely to do with her mental illness, but did anyone else think that she ran like Susan? Was that an intentional callback?

    And fourthly, I thought that London was VASTLY improved by adding all the trees. The whole forest thing didn’t creep me out at all. Mind you, I live in a fairly green city myself, so there’s that.

  11. James C said:

    Thanks for a really considered and engaging discussion of this episode. I found the early discussion about the children and how they behave as a group to be particularly interesting – one of those moments when Verity’s status as a mature, all female podcast may have made a real difference to the conversation.

  12. terminuspodcast said:

    Just started listening to this — yays! Haven’t read the comments before me yet, so I might be repeating, but as far as the medication issue, I wanted to pause and mention how I originally felt the same as you guys where it made me uncomfortable, but then I read this post on Tumblr and it gave me a different perspective on it, so much so that I’ve since changed my mind to agree with it:

    From: http://tparadox.tumblr.com/post/100964766407/fanwankfeminism-slutdust-hnnnnurgh-you-just (with some typos fixed)

    “Here is a quote from the Mental Health Foundation, which is an organisation lobbying for people with mental illness:

    “Throughout history and even today there are people who hear voices who find their voices inspirational and comforting. Many researchers, practitioners and voice hearers believe it is mistaken to regard voice hearing as part of a psychopathic disease syndrome. Rather, they consider it to be more akin to a variation in human experience – a special faculty or difference that definitely does not need a cure.”

    There are many people who hear voices because of schizophrenia and many people who find them distressing, but there are people who hear voices that don’t find them distressing and people who hear voices that don’t have schizophrenia. In fact, schizophrenia itself is possibly a problematic concept, as there are people within the mental health service user movement who believe that a lot of behaviour has been wrongly “medicalised” under the label of schizophrenia when it sometimes represents a rational response to the person’s own experiences. For example, there’s a massive trend in over-diagnosis in schizophrenia in ethnic minorities, which raises the question “is it really an illness if you become paranoid after suffering years of racist abuse?”

    So no, I don’t find it problematic that someone heard voices and it turned out not to be schizophrenia and not to be a bad thing. If anything it’s probably more problematic that we see a character hearing voices and automatically think “must be schizophrenia.””

    So, yeah, I really liked that, especially the bit where we assume that Maebh needed to be medicated because she was hearing voices in the first place. I mean, yes, I agree that there are people who need their meds, but I see this side as well. *shrug*

  13. Hi Guys! It’s definitely not one of my favorite episodes, but I didn’t hate it. I can say that they probably did this one for us to “come down” from the high of the past several episodes, because I think we’re going to be on the edge of our seats for the final two.

    I love Doctor Who fairy tale stories and this one with the children was done quite well.

    I think the Doctor was good with the children because they were a step ahead of him the whole time, which was so damn funny! At some points in the TARDIS the camera focused on the children from the perspective of the Doctor, kind of like a Dr. Seuss cartoon/movie where we can’t really see the adults (maybe just a finger), only the children. They were not even impressed by the TARDIS, because, a forest just grew up in the middle of London!

    I loved it all.

  14. …is Missy a version of *Clara*?

  15. BeckyB said:

    Yet again I can count on you ladies to be thinking the same sorts of things that I’m thinking about when I watch the episode. Yes! Someone must walk behind the children! Hopefully Clara’s lack of “duty of care” in this episode is part of a larger story arc involving Clara, and will be resolved or at least addressed in the finale. On the music front this week, a noticeable lack of the traditional themes we’ve been hearing all season, replaced with some lovely and strikingly Disneyesque arrangements. Fitting, I suppose for this Doctor Who Fairytale.

  16. Philip said:

    I loved Maebh, I haven’t seen a child on Who as adorable since little Amelia Pond. I liked the episode just fine when I saw it, but now that I see it as a fairy tale I’m able to enjoy it more.

    This season has been so eclectic, I feel like I’m getting an education on how to watch and enjoy Who from various points of view. This all seems like old hat to classic fans, but it’s cool to learn more as I go.

  17. Thanks for bringing up the medication angle, which I had not thought about while watching the episode. I just came across this TED video about Vincent Van Gogh having scientific insights during his mental breakdown, which adds to this interesting conversation (especially since Vincent is now part of the Whoniverse). http://ed.ted.com/lessons/the-unexpected-math-behind-van-gogh-s-starry-night-natalya-st-clair

    Also, I wanted to say that Moffat and his team obviously just don’t know any teachers. It’s not just this episode that proves it. On Clara and Danny’s date in Listen, they wouldn’t have been talking about the kids, they would have been complaining about the administration. In The Caretaker for Parents Night, they wouldn’t have teacher conferences in one big room where parents can hear other families’ kids being discussed. In Forest, when Bradley physically bullies another child in the classroom, Clara wouldn’t just sit there grading papers and telling him to use manners, she’d get up and intervene. The whole depiction of school is a hot mess and needs to be branded as its own kind of school science FICTION.

    As to Clara and Danny’s relationship, I really thought after last week’s pointing out of Clara’s lies that she’d have consequences this week. In The Caretaker, didn’t Danny imply that if Clara isn’t honest with him then they’re through? He’s already given her second chances that she blew. He should be breaking up with her by now, not kissing her and giving her more chances.

    • BeckyB said:

      The irony here is that Steven Moffat was in fact a high school teacher for three years before he started writing full time.

  18. Ashford said:

    I’ve only seen the episode one time. I believe this and Robot of Sherwood will play better in a revisit of the season in a serial type way. I am enjoying this season quite a bit. I can not wait to replay it.

    This is an episode I could actually play in the classroom. Other than wolves peaking in the bushes, the rest is rather safe.

  19. Interesting to see somebody complaining about Moffat’s lack of knowledge about teaching — I actually thought it rang very true to my own experience of teaching through working in both mainstream primary/secondary and special education settings.

    On the medication issue, I had no problem with the way this episode approached it — this spoke to me of situations where children are put on medication in order to control their behaviour, rather than attempting to understand where the behaviour is coming from and to teach them appropriate coping skills. A successful illustration of the latter approach within the episode would be the boy with anger management issues. In flashbacks he’s shown to have flashes of anger and frustration accompanied by violent outbursts. Later in the episode we see how he’s changed — he’s able to identify when he’s feeling agitated and to verbalise these feelings (in language which is very familiar from children I’ve known with similar issues in special ed schools).

    The part which disappointed me was when Clara told the Doctor that their “gifted & talented” class wasn’t really gifted or talented, it was just a name for the difficult kids. It was a sad reflection of those schools which don’t really understand special needs and just lump any difficult kids under one umbrella term which allows them to pay lip service to the idea of helping them. I would like to think that Clara is normally better than this — and I admit, her outburst came at a stressful time when she was concerned about the Doctor’s attitude to the children.

    On the issue of Danny, I have to admit I was completely baffled by some of the reactions to him. I saw this episode as one which unequivocally showed Danny to be completely comfortable with Clara travelling with the Doctor — I was certain that this one would finally win over Deb! To me, he was basically saying, “I’ve done my travelling and now all I want to do is find one spot in which to be happy and appreciate the wonders of life. Clearly you need to keep travelling with the Doctor, so please don’t feel like you need to lie about it. Do what you need to do and you know I’ll still be here.”

    So to hear what he said interpreted as a passive-aggressive “I’m morally superior so you should do as I do” attack… I suppose I can sort of see it if I squint sideways and flip the whole world around, but it seems to spring from a fundamental suspicion of the character’s motives on every level that is completely alien to me.

    I also don’t think their different views on travel need be an impediment to their relationship — it certainly hasn’t been for me and my wife! During the time we’ve been together my wife has gone on a few trips to Europe for holiday. I’ve never gone with her because we couldn’t afford it, and this sometimes makes her feel guilty. But it’s important for her to go and I support her in that — not only does she have a very good friend in Germany to catch up with, but she can’t help bringing the worries of work home with her and leaving the country for a holiday allows her to escape them completely. For myself, I don’t need travel in order to get that sense of separation, so I’m content to stay home to look after the cats and to find my own quiet entertainment while she’s away. Plus telephones and email make it easy to maintain regular contact with each other, which definitely helps 🙂

  20. Henrik said:

    Hmm. Well. That’s some ‘Kill The Moon’ level nonsense right there. And on contemporary Earth at that.

    I don’t know what to call the ending with the bush kid. “Dumb” is putting it kindly. “Unearned” comes up short.

    All the stuff about Clara and her relationships with Danny and the Doctor was good. The kids were surprisingly good and didn’t bother me in the slightest.
    Large parts of the story and plot was not the worst of the season, maybe because there was so little of it, but definitely in the bottom three. So far? ‘Kill The Moon’ is still worse, I think. Probably? ‘Robot Of Sherwood’ is looking good in comparison, kind of how ‘Crimson Horror’ looked like a masterpiece after ‘Nightmare In Silver’.
    Would I have minded this piece of crap cake if it hadn’t been preceded by a full meal of cattle droppings in ‘Kill The Moon’? Maybe, maybe not. I still would have been bothered by how slight it is if not by how dumb aspects of it is.
    It strikes me as a poorer ‘The Doctor, Widow And The Wardrobe’. Too much of it is just outright magic and there doesn’t seem to be any real story there to tell; the whole episode is just a feeling, really, of being on a stroll through an enchanting forest.
    Then this episode decides to put the nonsense on Earth and claim that this is how Earth works. Please stop that, Doctor Who. Kids younger than the ones in the episode know that’s not the case and you’re insulting them. Maybe there is a planet somewhere out there with plant life that somehow senses increased activity in a volatile sun and does something to protect itself but that’s not Earth. We’ve got a pretty decent magnetic shield though, maybe write something about that. Sentient trees kind of works in ‘The Doctor, The Widow And The Wardrobe’ because it’s a distant world somewhere else and they really just look like trees.
    It could be worse though, I guess, if the episode hadn’t telegraphed, by it’s tone, that it was a fairy story episode. It’s still bad. They still shouldn’t have put it on Earth, they still shouldn’t have treated the behaviour of fire that way, etc.
    The episode is more honestly nonsense than ‘Kill The Moon’, but this one might be slightly less salvageable through minor rewrites.

    The show does seem determined to ruin what could so very nearly have been a perfect run this series.

    I’m starting to think the show has a grudge against rational thought in general.

    No! Don’t think! It screams in ‘Kill The Moon’. Forget how fire, air, trees and everything else works, it insists in this latest one.
    To top it off the audience is instructed that people with serious psychiatric issues shouldn’t seek help or take prescribed medication because that’s stupid and sinister, because people with mental health issues are really just special and mental health issues are just nature’s way of making you magical. Don’t take your medication kids, the Doctor says so, because you were meant to, you were born to, it’s your glorious magical fairy tale destiny to, be unable to focus on anything ever or to hallucinate or to have regular panic attacks.
    Are wheelchairs acceptable in the Doctor’s world or are they too unnatural abominations removing the user from the wonderful natural state of not being able to walk? Are we allowed to have brain tumours removed or cancer treated? Or are those all magical natural states too that we should be proud to not do anything about?
    This reminds me in rather unpleasant ways of certain aspects of early ‘Doctor Who’ in which the first or second or sometimes the third Doctor would rail against the use of computers. Or how ‘Star Trek’, right up into ‘Enterprise’ stuck with the insane notion that any genetic engineering is evil and nothing good could possibly come from it and any character who disagreed was more or less openly called a nazi.

    Doctor Who: “Don’t learn anything kids, and if you accidentally do then don’t ever apply that knowledge to any aspect of life because science is evil and you should just prance around believing in magic and luck and take everything at face value”.

    ‘In The Forest Of The Night’ has put me in a right foul mood and it did affect my viewing experience of ‘Dark Water’. I’m now struggling with every single incredible thing that the show presents because I no longer trust that they’ll bother with any hint of an explanation beyond ‘a wizard did it’. Oh, there’s “an afterlife” now is there? A few weeks ago, pre ‘Kill The Moon’, I would have just gone along with it and wondered how they were going to tackle it on the show and how it would be made into a plausible thing within the story but now I’m thinking they might just throw that in as if it were just a thing to be accepted as real with no questions asked.

    This is like there being real ghosts and monsters on Scooby Doo.

    Has series 8, which started off so well and had such great stories in it, ruined ‘Doctor Who’ for me forever with two and a bit crap episodes?
    I honestly don’t know. It’d be a feat indeed if it had but I’m really starting to think it might have.

    • In Flatline, Clara and Rigsy are shown jumping out of a high speed train without suffering any injuries. That would be extremely unlikely in real life.

      They also managed to create a photo-realistic image of a door and handle on the back of a poster with a can of spray paint while being chased by 2D monsters. The moon actually being an egg is more plausible than that.

      And going by all the potholes in the roads, In The Forest Of The Night actually explains a lot.

  21. Danny is the Darrin Stevens of Doctor Who. Or at least he will be if Clara chooses him over the marvelous world of time travel. “Now, Clara, mustn’t twitch.”

    I didn’t get that the trees were the heroes. Wasn’t til the Doctor said it that I got it. As far as Clara’s dread—I didn’t get that either. It kind of reminded me of how not scary it was when the 11th Doctor was in the forest in Hide “I’ve never been frightened” or whatever he said. It bothered me more in Hide because Hide was billed as a scary episode and I didn’t feel that emotion in the end. This fairy tale was NEVER billed as scary so I wasn’t disappointed that it wasn’t.

    As far as the sister AND meds, the story could have easily done without either factor. Why couldn’t she just be a crazy little girl that happens to perceive more than others? If she’s not medicated in the story then there’s nothing to take her off of—there would ONLY be the fact that she should be listened to. And we don’t have to have the loose end sister. Jeez, all this story needed was a good ham-fisted editor to cut the crap out of it.

    All in all, Robot of Sherwood was better. So there.

Leave a Reply

