Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode63The year is almost over, but there’s still time to finish out our year of villains in style! Join Deb, Erika, Lynne, and Tansy as we talk about the times when the TARDIS has crossed over to the dark side–or seemed to. Or at least acted a little tetchy. Okay, so we realize “villain” is a bit of a strong word, but there were certainly times the TARDIS was antagonistic. And we cover a lot of examples! Here’s a list of (I think) all the stories we talk about in this ep:

What other examples can you think of? Let us know in the comments. And let us know what you think of the TARDIS as a “baddie”!

^E

Also covered:

Bonus link:
Zoe’s spangly pantsuit (scroll down to number 11)

Download or listen now (runtime 1:07:13) 

Comments on: "Verity! Episode 63 – Tetchy Antagonistic Rascally Devious Intractable Spaceship" (20)

  1. Saxon Brenton said:

    The idea of the relationship between the Doctor and the TARDIS evolving as our understanding of the TARDIS’ personhood does – and that as a result it now seems particularly wrong for the Doctor to use violence against her – underscores how upset the Doctor was at the end of Death In Heaven about the Master’s lie about Gallifrey being back. This is interesting because there was so little ‘quest for Gallifrey’ material (unless that was what most of the scribbling on chalk board was about – future plot threats hidden in plain sight) in that it implies that the Doctor is quietly obsessing over the issue. In turn it makes me wonder about how the TARDIS feels about the loss of Gallifrey. Further random thought: the Doctor can’t sense other Time Lords if they’ve been hidden with cameleon arc techniques – but can other TARDISes be hidden from her senses? And finally, wouldn’t it be amusing if in one adventure the Doctor had unknowingly muffed things so badly that the TARDIS locked him out as he tried to leave, then used the communication interface to flash a static holographic projection of the key bad guy in a type of irritated-parent-with-arms-crossed ‘No, you haven’t finished yet, go back and fix the problem’ admonishment.

  2. First of all: sign me up for camp “If you hate Zagreus you’re wrong!” Also, what was that about Scherzo? It’s the most brilliant piece of writing for an audio story and observing the reactions of disturbed first-time-listeners is my favourite hobby in fandom. 😛

    On topic: I always find the relationships of the TARDIS and the companions fascinating cause for the most part it’s not particularly commented on in one way or another. But when it is it’s mostly framed as the TARDIS being annoyed with companions who drag all sorts of timey wimey baggage on board the she’s having none of that. We kinda got that with Clara – though it wasn’t stated on screen what the reason for their issues was (but since DotD the TARDIS even opens/closes the doors when Clara snips her fingers it seems to be resolved alongside with the timestream paradox thingy). Similarly you have the TARDIS trying to run away from Jack in Utopia, or at least that’s what the Doctor says.

    There’s also a case like that with Charley Pollard in the audios (Spoiler Warning, I guess??) when she travels with the Sixth Doctor and the TARDIS promptly stops her health care support and Charley gets infected with a mysterious virus that causes all sorts of trouble.

  3. Oh dear! I’m afraid the download link gives me episode 62 again! 😦

  4. Great discussion. I think we can all agree that there is so much more to the TARDIS that has yet to be explored. The TARDIS as an antagonist seems to be much more prevalent in fanfiction then in cannon, and I’m afraid that sometimes that headcannon seeps into my TV viewing.

  5. Loved it! I thought that when the TARDIS got all weird during “The Doctor’s Wife,” though, that it was House and not the TARDIS that was making all the scary. Just a thought. 🙂

  6. I haven’t listened to this week’s episode yet. I’m posting because it seems director Rachel Talalay reads the Verity! Podcast comment section! She referenced an exchange here, and uses one of my comments in her example! So, obviously I’m excited.

    But let me direct you all to read the entire interview. Rachel Talalay seems to be as interesting and awesome as I had originally suspected. And Alyssa asked good questions and leads an interesting interview.

    http://whovianfeminism.tumblr.com/post/105397652672/an-interview-with-rachel-talalay

  7. What a great podcast again! It made hoovering a lot more bearable.

    About the temporal grace situation: the Doctor called his comment about it to Mels a clever lie when she complained it wasn’t working after shooting the TARDIS console.

    About the Doctor calling the TARDIS a machine:
    I think the Doctor used to talk down to everyone and knew full well that a TARDIS is much more than a machine, even if it may have held some secrets that he discovered along the way. Just look at this exchange:
    Ian: ‘Ship?’
    The Doctor: ‘Yes, yes. Ship. I use your own outdated terminology for any craft which does not roll along on wheels.’

    Seriously though: kittens?

  8. Great episode of Verity! I thought Erika in particular had an interesting take on the development of the TARDIS over the course of the series. This subject could, actually, have gone on a little longer for my taste.

    Details, though:

    Regarding Big Finish. Count me in the “I really liked Zagreus” camp. Count me in the “I liked Scherzo” camp, as well. But, you should also count me in the “I really hated The Natural History of Fear” camp.

    Regarding the Doctor Who Legacy game. I wasn’t especially excited about the comic book companions in the advent pack, because I haven’t started reading them, to be honest. However, I was ecstatic today to acquire my Charley Pollard companion. I’ve already gotten her to be a two-star companion. It’s not that I spend an inordinate amount of time on the game, but I do have quite the team. My five-star team is the War Doctor, Madame Vastra, Jenny Flint, John Riddell, the Brigadier, and Colonel Orson Pink (or sometimes Captain Jack).

  9. terminuspodcast said:

    The bit about how the Doctor leaving the door open could be akin to him leaving the toilet seat up for the TARDIS left me in hysterical laughter. I even had to pause the podcast for a second to calm myself! I will always think of that now when the Doctor leaves the door open and the TARDIS quietly shuts it for him off-screen. Poor, TARDIS!

    Also, as an aside, there has been some fanfic around the whole Doctor-hitting-the-TARDIS thing. Obviously, its on the smutty kink spectrum of things, but it does exist, should you chose to look for it. Let’s just say its a way that some writers have tried to make that aspect of the TARDIS/Doctor relationship consensual. It’s not my kink, personally, but I do ship the Doctor/TARDIS, so I appreciate the stance. 🙂

    • terminuspodcast said:

      P.S. I also agree that if I were in charge of Doctor Who, I’d write lots of stories that took place in the TARDIS.

      They wouldn’t even have to be super-intense, they could be little moments in companion’s bedrooms (nothing romantic per se, just moments like Adric, Nyssa, Tegan, and Romana had) or wandering in the wardrobe room or swimming in the pool (which in ‘Journey to the Center of the TARDIS’ looked much nicer than when it did in ‘The Invasion of Time’ — hell, most of the inside of the TARDIS looked better than in ‘The Invasion of Time’, but oh well).

      I do still want a proper horror story in the TARDIS, though, like with ghost-echoes of past companions or something. I was hoping for that with ‘Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS’, but it didn’t hit the mark for me.

  10. I have not yet finished listening to the podcast, but I wanted to share a TARDIS tree ornament story. We have the same ornament (at least, I assume it is not exactly the same ornament, dematerialisation notwithstanding), but it never stays on the tree because my youngest stepson (7.5) and my daughter (3.5) like to play Doctor Who with it. Sadly, we do not have an actual canonical Doctor on the tree, so they have substituted with… Winnie the Pooh. Why Pooh and not, say, the penguin in a Santa hat, I have no idea, but Pooh has many happy adventures around the tree, defeating Zygons and saving the world.

    Possibly the penguin is a Zygon. I will ask the children.

    • Ms 3 assures me that the penguin is a Zygon and should be watched.

      • Thanks for the smiles! We are anxiously awaiting the arrival of Dalek Paradigm ornaments at our house. I hope they do not attempt to exterminate the reindeer and snowmen. Perhaps, I should move the nativity to the other side of the room as a precaution?

  11. I LOVED Zagreus! And I came into it without having heard what came before. It was DARLING! I’m listening to it again as a matter of fact. I would however like to know what comes after it in the range. I’m a BF audio hopper so my timeline is in a bit of a disarray.

  12. One Big Finish audio I was surprised wasn’t mentioned was Prisoners of Fate.
    http://www.bigfinish.com/releases/v/prisoners-of-fate-712
    Those of you who have listened to it would understand. I don’t want to give any spoilers to those who haven’t.

  13. AbsolomDaak said:

    Sorry I’m commenting a few days after listening to this episode so I think I might be getting a few things wrong.
    someone mentioned the portrait of Ace from Silver Nemesis, I believe that Sophie Aldred actually has the portrait that they painted for that scene in the show that had been cut out, and added back in for the video release. There was a interview that was done with her a few years after the show had ended that she did where she ended up showing it.

  14. belated comments!

    Deb very briefly touched on Faction Paradox, so I’m a bit surprised the whole Compassion business wasn’t touched upon. Essentially, what happens when the Doctor”s TARDIS is a Type 102, capable both of communicating verbally and of walking about the place? Compassion wasn’t “his” TARDIS, so there were all kinds of tensions there…

    Not tied to that, but in my head canon, the TARDIS has always been like The Ship That Sang – a consciousness within a machine. With all the questions that raises about consent. i like to think the Doctor ‘liberated’ the TARDIS when he realised there was a sentience within it.

  15. […] right, we’re talking about the TARDIS again! We discussed her villainous tendencies with Lynne and Tansy last year. Now, join Deb, Erika, Katrina, and Liz as we fold the TARDIS into […]

Leave a Reply

