Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityExtraRedNoseIf you’re reading this the day it drops, the US is having its very first Red Nose Day tomorrow! Join Deb, Erika, Katrina, and Liz as we explain just what that means and why it relates to Doctor Who. (If you live in the UK, that part may be a bit obvious.) We chat (and disagree–of course) about each of the Red Nose Day sketches that are (sometimes only just barely) related to the Doctor and his universe:

2007 – Catherine Tate & David Tennant

2009 – SJA: From Raxacoricofallapatorius With Love

2011 – Space, Part One and Time, Part Two

2013 – Call the Midwife/One Born Every Minute/Doctor Who Comic Relief Sketch

If you’ve watched and enjoyed any of these, please consider donating to Comic Relief, either in the US or the UK.

^E

Bonus links:
The Catherine Tate Show
Ronnie Corbett
The Frost Report
The Two Ronnies
Call the Midwife
One Born Every Minute

Download or listen now (runtime 51:07)  

Comments on: "Extra! – Boy, Are Our Noses Red!" (12)

  1. You missed https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fR6yGrEGIjE and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUHFiUOYEGo and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OgsBbVbpi4g and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhU9u4vxk1Q and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GfG7rO5JPRY for Peter Capaldi and David Tennant (as themselves) in this year’s UK Comic Relief.

    Also, the Comic Relief day alternates years with Sport Relief day, with Sport Relief being part of the overall Comic Relief charity setup. Here’s DT from last year’s Sport Relief: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaWkg2hRuLg and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHSi6Xs1edM and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9LajClp8kHI

    They don’t just appear in Cardiff.

  2. Richard S. said:

    Yes, Children In Need, every November of every year = Terry Wogan from The Commitments movie, the internationally famous Fearne Cotton, John Craven’s Countryfile calendar and lovely Pudsey Bear. Usually raises around £30 million on the night, I believe, with money still coming in long after.

    Comic Relief, March of every odd-numbered year in the Gregorian calendar = Lenny Henry & David Walliams, with Davina (bot) McCall cycling the Atlantic in hysterics. Usually makes £70-80 million on the night? It’s around the time of my birthday, so I politely encourage folks to buy me charity merch as pressies. This year: Bake Off cookbook, snazzy apron and four red noses, all different designs, none of them the astronaut. My nephew got that one. Still not jealous. Listening to the podcast, I wore the bobbly one-eyed nose; if you spray it orange, it’ll pass for a gell guard.

    Briefly, Sport Relief, March of all years / 2 with no remainder = the legendary Gary Lineker presenting James Corden as a football (yes, football) coach, David Beckham as his supposed rookie trainee. Although, last Sport Relief Day, 2014, much better than usual. Proper comedy sports tournament in a real stadium with teams & stuff. Frank Skinner swam a length of a pool despite lifelong paralysing anxiety & genuine tears of frustration after being encouraged to duck his head underwater just the once. Genuine tears from me when he succeeded.

    Isn’t “One Born” (as we, apparently, call it here in the UK, so waggishly) is the top rated show on Channel 4? Pretty sure it was, last time I checked the TV ratings site to see if other progs I disliked had the low ratings I thought they deserved. Ahem… The Midwife sketch was probably my favourite of those you discussed, until the bit where Matt appears… or, actually, Matt appears and starts doing the creepy.

    SJA sketch was my least fav, for all your reasons. There’s a Ronnie Corbett joke on the Visitation special DVD, the trip thru the BBC TV Centre, part ONE. Comedy often (mainly? always?) seems to rely on the audience awareness of what’s supposed to happen, which is hard to manage when you’ve never heard of the people involved, e.g. constant puzzling US sitcom references to mysterious people named “Archie Bunker,” “Mr Kotter,” “Beaver Cleaver,” etc. (I vaguely know who they are, I watch Friends & read Stephen King, and one of those three is definitely Alf Garnett.)

    I think I might have laughed at the Catherine Tate sketch, but I was alone, so no one heard me and Nobody Knows. I was that kid in the class. The Space & Time & Amy & Rory one was very laddish, but it was Amy and Rory AND AMY, so I remember it with great affection and no small amount of cultural amnesia.

    Hope you all have a great day tomorrow, make loads of cash, have loads of fun, and long may it continue.

  3. Deb, I’m impressed by how well you were able to articulate your viewpoint on the Space/Time skit. Do you write down bullet points for your argument, or is that just pure podcasting skill? While I enjoyed the sketch, I always felt a little niggle about it that bothered me, and Deb, you were able to verbalize that niggle. Thanks for the great discussion!

    Of these skits only the Midwife one was new to me. I, too, have never even heard of Born Every Minute, but I have seen the first season of Call the Midwife so I enjoyed that part of the skit. Unfortunately, I hated Matt Smith’s part, which is sad because Matt is MY doctor. I think it’s because the Doctor has broken so many hearts over the years because, for whatever Gallifreyan reason, he hasn’t returned their affections. So to have the Doctor portrayed as some time tramp who beds nuns in the 1930’s, moves him from unfathomable alien to big heartless jerk.

    On a side note, I’ve been listening to Deb’s Amazing Race podcast and would like to totally second the idea of having a fan edition of Amazing Race. Wouldn’t it be fabulous to have a team running across South America in a big floppy hat and bow tie, sonicing things that frustrate them?

  4. Deb, your rant on moffats sexism… I love you so much right now, it’s not even funny anymore, your brain is awesome! ❤

  5. (I haven’t listened to it yet, so please forgive me if it came up in the podcast…)

    What, no mention of the greatest Comic Relief “Doctor Who” sketch of all time, “The Curse of Fatal Death”, shown in four parts in 1999 and written and produced by a young up-and-coming television artist by the name of Steven Moffatt? With Rowan Atkinson, Richard E. Grant, Hugh Grant, Jim Broadbent, and Joanna Lumley all playing the Doctor? For shame! This needs to be redressed by CoFT getting its own Verity retrospective podcast.

    And thank you for reminding me that the first US Red Nose Day is on tomorrow night.

  6. Travis Hiltz said:

    Was I the only one put off that in the middle of Deb’s rant on Moffat and feminism she referred to whatever Amy was distracting Rory with in the skit as ‘the good china’…?

    Other than that, a good overview of the various skits.
    Though, I thought you guys were rough on the SJAs one with Ronnie Corbert.
    It was a fun bit of fluff and nice to have one little last bit of Liz Sladen.

  7. Paul A. said:

    Lenny Henry, apart from all the other things he’s famous for, has a tenuous Doctor Who connection in that he once played the Doctor in a comedy skit in the 1980s.

    Call the Midwife has a much less tenuous Doctor Who connection: the original central character was played by Jessica Raine, who was Emma Grayling in “Hide” and your namesake in “An Adventure in Space and Time”.

  8. Jarrod said:

    Lenny Henry Doctor Who sketch that Paul A. mentions:-

    I make no comment on the comedy value of the above sketch.

  9. Thank you, I think, for sharing some very dodgy sketches. I thought the Tate/Tennant one was of interest. That SJA was so awful I skipped most of it. Dreadful, truly dreadful.

  10. Hi. This is a day of firsts for me. A comment over at Phil Sandifer’s and now one here. First comments on this sort of thing, ever.

    Thanks for the podcast to all the contributors. Always fun and thought provoking. Love the varying opinions and takes on all things Doctor Who.

    I was a bit put off this time by one more rant against the Space/Time upskirt gag. One that I could see coming as soon as I read the topic. If I can’t play like that in real life with my husband, than there’s something wrong with society. And if my favourite married couple can’t play like that on screen, just once, in the TARDIS then there’s something wrong with television. But I don’t want to rant, because I love you all too much. And I love that Amy would do that and that Rory would be smitten like he was. Being a couple is all the nice cuddly, being there for each other stuff, but also the naughty stuff as well. I want this sort of behaviour from my characters.

    And the Doctor’s reaction at the end… I didn’t see it being delivered as a command from the Patriarchy to ‘cover up, girl’, but more as the good natured chiding from a friend who was maybe a bit embarrassed by his friend’s overt flirting and it’s consequences.

    I was actually more put off by the narcissistic love of Amy for herself when they meet.

    Anyway. Love your podcast, and thank you all for taking the time and effort to put it out each week.

  11. Neil Ottenstein said:

    Thanks for sharing the sketches. I think I had seen all but the Midwife one.

Leave a Reply

