Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode76This week’s topic is one we’ve touched on a bit, but we thought it deserved its own episode. Join Deb, Erika, Lynne, and Tansy as we talk about companions who were also soldiers (or soldierey or soldier-adjacent). Naturally, there’s a lot of UNIT talk, but there are more soldier-companions than you might think.

What do you think of the military companions? And how do you feel about the Doctor’s ever-evolving reaction to soldiers? Let us know in the comments!

^E

Also covered:

Bonus links:
Our ep on the Master’s companions
Texts from the TARDIS
Verity’s Tumblr
Seasons of War charity anthology
Action by HAVOC tee-shirts: US shop, UK shop
Fanon

Download or listen now (runtime 1:29:04) 

Comments on: "Ep 76 – Soldiering On" (12)

  1. Richard S. said:

    Great discussion as always. I’m pleased you spent some time on Harry Sullivan. He was my entry-level companion when I started watching the show in 1974-75. It’s been a while since I saw many of his stories; just Ark In Space on DVD and Harry’s swansong in The Android Invasion which I’d largely forgotten until I saw it on the Horror Channel recently.

    It’s thanks to Ian Marter, and his chemistry with Tom Baker, that there’s still a part of me that expects the TARDIS set-up to be Doctor plus female plus male, which is why I’d expected to see Danny as a full-fledged member of the crew last year.

    It’s interesting to contrast Danny with possibly the most soldiery of the companions (if you don’t count UNIT). Able Seaman Ben Jackson started out depressed (well, lightly glum, anyway) because he was stuck on dry land & unable to perform his duties. Ben’s debut was the first proper contemporary Earth military adventure… and his first scene is in Polly’s usual groovy hip London hangout at the start of the peace-loving flower power era. Intereting contrast of cultures, right there.

    In DWM 487, July 2015 issue, page 4, Steven Moffat opens up a whole can of handwavium and pours it all over the multiple-Doctor stories. The exact phrase is “by special Time Magic”… Don’t know if it has any bearing on rewriting the Ninth Doctor’s history. Don’t really want to know. I’m Doylist af, as the kids say nowadays.

  2. Richard S. said:

    Ben Jackson – possibly Lightly glum, definitely Slightly glum… IntereSting…

  3. baticeer said:

    If Lynne wants recommendations for Doctor Who tumblrs and enjoys reblogging pictures of pretty dresses then she might like my tumblr dedicated to posting pictures of fashion/costumes worn in classic Who: http://tardiswardrobe.tumblr.com/
    ( /shameless self-promotion )

    I’m glad you mentioned Sara Kingdom because she’s one of my favorites (and I count her as a companion because even though you could argue she wasn’t really one in the show, she’s definitely one in Big Finish, so there :P).

    You could probably argue that Leela, while not being in any actual military, also fits into this mold of companion — or at least makes an interesting parallel — because of her physical toughness and tendency to turn to violence as the first solution.

  4. Jennifer said:

    What a fun episode. In honor of Liz’s new podcast may I throw a shout-out to Captain Yates’ precursor, Captain Hawkins from The Silurians, played by Paul Darrow?

  5. terminuspodcast said:

    My favorite Tennant related Tumblr is probably http://fiftysevenacademics.tumblr.com/. She is especially heavy on the Shakespearean Tennant roles and I love her posts. Some other good ones are:
    + http://tennydr10confidential.tumblr.com/ (TONS of gifs)
    + http://mizgnomer.tumblr.com (great especially for behind the scenes pics)
    + http://whovianfloozy.tumblr.com/
    + http://lauraxxtennant.tumblr.com/
    + http://dunderklumpen.net/

    My own (personal) Tumblr has a lot of David Tennant and Doctor Who stuff, but its all reblogged, but if you’re curious its: http://radiantbaby.tumblr.com. 🙂

    • Sorry for the delay on getting that comment out of moderation. All the delicious links in it made WordPress suspicious, and I was asleep. 🙂

  6. valoise said:

    I enjoyed this episode quite a bit but was just a little disappointed that one of my favorite UNIT members didn’t even get a mention. I know Brigadier Winifred Bambera only had the one episode but she rocked it.

  7. Emma E. said:

    I started watched Doctor Who five years ago and have stuck to the new series alone. Despite the fact listening to all your episodes has led to my ability to list all the Doctors and their companions in order, I have valiantly resisted the lure of the classic series. Somehow I just knew that would be the final stroke in selling my soul to Doctor Who. But after listening to this episode, I went and checked out all the Third Doctor I could find at the library. U.N.I.T. Martha and Kate Stewart and Osgood have been some of my absolute favorites in the new series and listening to you talk about all the other U.N.I.T. goodness was too much. Here go the next 10 years of my life to the alter of Classic Who!

    • I can’t even tell you how much this comment just made my day. And it was a lousy day, so I thank you. I’m also a little Liz-style jealous of all the Who you get to watch for the first time! 🙂

  8. I forsee a LOT of tumblr follows in my future…

  9. I know I’m a little late to the party – a few long podcasts all at once have gotten my car playlist all backed up and I just got to this episode last night. Anyway, Lynne, first thing I thought of for you was one of the only tumblrs I follow, David Tennant in Places He Shouldn’t Be – http://davidtennantinplacesheshouldntbe.tumblr.com/
    Even though the name is a little misleading, because, really, is there any place that David Tennant shouldn’t be? No, I didn’t think so either. 🙂
    Keep up the awesome podcasting, Ladies!!

Leave a Reply

