Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode91It wasn’t Susan! Or the Rani! Or any other crazy fan theory! Sometimes Moffat doesn’t lie. Join Deb, Erika, Liz, and Tansy as we talk about Maisie Williams as Ashildr, Vikings, eels, books, Brian Blessed, and much, much more.

What did you think of this ep? Did you love the girl who died? Or did you just see Arya Stark from Game of Thrones the whole time? Let us know in the comments!

^E

Also covered:

Bonus links:
Emma Vieceli’s Breaks
“Blank Space” fanvid
Seasons of Fear (Big Finish audio)
“Stand and Deliver” (Adam and the Ants song)
Stand and Deliver (film)

Download or listen now (runtime 1:34:30) 

Comments on: "Ep 91 – The Girl Who Died in the Wool" (19)

  1. terminuspodcast said:

    Aww, just started listening and was SO HAPPY to be mentioned by Tansy! And yes, you guys totally inspired me, as I’ve been an avid listener since the very beginning. Glad to have people enjoying the podcast! It’s always easy to think you’re just talking to no one, so I’m glad that’s not necessarily true. Definitely going to have to make this mention one of my own happy things on my next episode! 🙂

  2. Apart from mild annoyance that they kept on using Viking incorrectly I really enjoyed the episode. I’ve always enjoyed a good mix of humour and drama in my programming anyway, more of a fan of Farscape than Star Trek.

    I like the little parts of other stories (which I’m sure Big Finish will complete one day) especially this season when two parters mean we’re seeing half as many adventures we still know that 12 and Clara are off causing just as much chaos in the cosmos as usual.

  3. Neil Ottenstein said:

    Just an hour into the episode, but I thought I would address the issue of the Doctor and Jack Harkness’ immortality. The Doctor was very disturbed about Jack. Here is a quote from “Utopia”: “I can’t help it. I’m a Time Lord. It’s instinct; it’s in my guts. You’re a fixed point in time and space; you’re a fact. That’s never meant to happen. Even the TARDIS reacted against you, tried to shake you off. Flew all the way to the end of the universe just to get rid of you.” and later “That’s why I left you behind. It’s not easy, even just… just looking at you, Jack, ’cause you’re wrong.” So, he wasn’t just cavalier leaving him behind and “not cleaning up after his mess.” He was profoundly disturbed by it.

    Note that Jack’s immortality might be subtly different than Ashildr’s. She is constantly being repaired, while he has instantly healing and so forth. I think she has more of a time delay than he has.

    • Deborah Stanish said:

      You’re right, he was disturbed by it and a coward in dealing with it. And, as someone who knows the pain of outliving people you’ve cared deeply for (See also: ALL OF SERIES TWO. I’m looking at you, “Curse of a Time Lord”), absolutely uncaring that Jack was consigned to that fate in an even more horrible way. Though, I guess my biggest beef comes at the end of the three-parter when he is being dropped back off at Cardiff and the Doctor and Martha have a chuckle at the idea that he could be the Face of Boe. Whether you believe he is, or not, it is so incredibly callous that this would be considered amusing – to have lived so long and changed so much that you were pretty much consigned to ending your life as a Big Head in a Jar. Of course, if you want to parallel that to a hand in a jar I suppose there is some sort of gruesome symmetry.

      TL,DR: The Doctor was a jerk. 😉

  4. Thanks so much, Erika, for sharing the Talalay-ed version of Flash Chorus’s version of X Ambassador’s “Renegades” among your happy things! Just after the 2-minute mark of the video, I’m the one bouncing up and down like an imbecile! Much like the brand of Doctor Who fandom that Verity! fosters, our little Monday-night chorus is all about community and celebrating things we love, namely singing pop songs.

    I was so overjoyed that I managed to persuade our conductor to alter a particular lyric – which namechecks two white male film directors – to shout out Rachel Talalay! As they changed the line in the google document, the entire chorus chanted “T-A-L-A-L-A-Y,” and I only wish there were video footage of that! Here, though, is the screenshot you mentioned in the podcast: https://instagram.com/p/8w_HZCop-0/

    If any website readers or podcast listeners live in the Durham, NC area, you should come along to choir practice and chat about Doctor Who with me during breaks! http://www.flashchorus.org/about.html

  5. Valencia said:

    I just found this and love it already. So now I have to to back to the beginning. Thanks!!

  6. Thanks for another lovely episode! And please don’t feel any pressure to edit down to an hour’s duration. The longer the better, I say! 🙂

  7. If the Monty Python theme continues in the next episode, it could be more Dennis Moore than Adam Ant…

  8. Clint Skinner said:

    I think Clara has started a downward spiral. She has become too carefree, impulsive, and manipulative. My prediction is that those traits will only get worse and ultimately lead to her demise when they face whatever this season is leading to.

  9. Neil Ottenstein said:

    By the way, if you are a Big Finish main line subscriber, there is a traditional “stand and deliver” line in the free short trip “The Warren Legacy” that was attached to #204 Criss-Cross.

  10. I am 100% here for the Verity spinoff podcast that’s just you all talking about Adam and the Ants.

  11. Katrina D said:

    I loved this episode and the secondary theme of the season “acknowledging other pop culture anniversaries/milestones”.

    Eps 1 & 2 the 40th anniversary of “Genesis of the Daleks”.
    Eps 3 & 4 the 50th anniversary of “Star Trek”
    Eps 4 & 5 the 40th anniversary of “Monty Python and the Holy Grail” with heavy references to “Erik the Viking”. I loved that Odin even looked like Terry Gilliam.
    I am so expecting a reference to a Shrubbery next week.

    • Katrina D said:

      PS I wonder if they’ll pick up on the 30th anniversary of “Back to the Future 2” or maybe they did already with the Doctor explaining the Bootstrap Paradox, just like Marty McFly’s experiences!!

      I really liked the comedy in this week’s episode. Even the electric eels in barrels (Mr Moffat, where’s the electric eel fish slapping dance. LoL)

  12. I’ve only heard the blurbs before the podcast, but I had to agree with Tansy. Lofty is TOTALLY an ancestor of Rory.

  13. critchie17 said:

    Lofty Williams (Pond) ….Oh yes….

  14. I really enjoyed this episode, and the entire series so far. This is the first time I’ve been able to watch it live, as it airs. This week to week wait is hard… I’ve been completely spoiled by Netflix binge watching.

    I may have been a bit sentimental, my youngest “baby” is 3, but those baby translation scenes brought on some tears. Hit me right in the feels.

    Do you think Clara is still dealing with grief from Danny’s death? Could that be why she is seeming to be more and more wreckless? Or is it just that she is more confident? I’m having a hard time distinguishing. It seems like it all went so fast, but maybe she dealt with it off screen. Or I have my timeline wonky.

    Thanks, as always, for the wonderful podcast. (Sorry if this is a double post, but I think my first is floating around in cyberspace somewhere.)

  15. Yes on the podcast, no on the Adam and the Ants video.

  16. Love bed the commentary on this episode. BTW: Scottish Electric Eels sounds like the name of a Scottish punk band. Peter Capaldi, are you listening?

  17. Damn you auto correct.. That should read “loved” not “love bed”. Good grief!

Leave a Reply

