Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode111It’s Eccleston time again! Join Deb, Erika, Katrina, and Lynne as we discuss a real workhorse of an episode, “The Long Game”. Adam, the not-quite-companion fails, the Doctor and Rose aren’t the most mature, and we play “we’ll fix it for you” to help Lynne handwave something that bugs her. Then we talk about potato chips. No, really.

What did you think of this one? Did it make an impression? Have you revisited it since the first time you saw it? Let us know in the comments!

^E

Also covered:

Bonus links:
The Audio Guide to Babylon 5
The Terrible Zodin fanzine is looking for female reviewers
Lazy Doctor Who covers “The Long Game”

Download or listen now (runtime 1:13:10) 

Comments on: "111 – Losing The Long Game" (8)

  1. Reblogged this on Confessions of a Curator, Editor, Geek and commented:

    In which we discuss The Long Game.

  2. Bob Gallagher said:

    I actually have a copy of the Doctor Who board game tucked away in my games cupboard. It’s not a particularly good game, to be honest.

    • Andrew said:

      I got that game for my 7th or 8th birthday! Despite its clunkiness, I’m still very fond of it.

  3. terminuspodcast said:

    (I’ll save you my from my usual rant about Adam being treated unfairly, especially in light of ‘Father’s Day’ in the next story, as I’ve said it too many times, I think. Anyone who wants to know can check my ‘In Defense Of…’ episode of my podcast wherein I stick up for Adam)

    I did want to mention, though, that for some reason this discussion had me thinking back to Penny Carter* in ‘Partners in Crime’. I always thought it was really odd how the Doctor and Donna were rather smug about her (Donna even says something like: ‘some people just can’t hack it’ at the end), but I thought she was doing all of these great “companion things” on her own throughout the story (even at the same time as Donna in most cases).

    I mean, in a way it could be argued that “Partners in Crime” could easily be a set-up story for *Penny* as a new companion as her story runs parallel to Donna’s, but instead we are basically told that she’s not a good character and thus *not* companion material.

    Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think that Adam was as capable as a potential companion as Penny was, but I did find the disconnect somewhat similar with what those characters were doing vs how we were meant to be dismissive of them because our heroes were.

    I don’t know where I’m going with this, as it was just something that popped in my head while listening to this episode, but it was definitely something that struck me.

    * The Penny Carter thing is extra-weird because RTD said in his book that she was originally intended for the companion in S4 and was going to be someone the Doctor was going to fall in love-at-first-sight with. I guess because Catherine/Donna was back on board, RTD thought they had to now show Penny as failed in some way. I don’t know, though — I mean, why have in the story at all? Then again, RTD’s character writing often makes little sense to me, to be fair.

  4. I didn’t like Adam and I thought he got exactly what he deserved. He chose to put that port in his head… He will have to live with it… That’s more like Karma.

    I don’t take what the Doctor said about taking only the best seriously… It was an insult to Adam. Adam tried to pull one over on the Doctor and was lucky to get home alive.

    • Lee C said:

      I want to believe the Doctor when he says “I only take the best,” it makes me admire Rose and his companions more!

  5. I love this one! Cathica has one of my favorite one-episode arcs.

  6. Lee C said:

    I love this episode so much. For me, it is an awesome example of the downside of The Doctor’s style: drop in, blow up the bad stuff, but NOT stick around to help rebuild. If the Doctor had stayed around, he would likely have stopped the Daleks years before “Bad Wolf” and “Parting Of The Ways.”

    I love so much also: the Daleks are the evil reason behind why our news is so bad (as well as the curse of reality TV)!

Leave a Reply

