Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode115Our new-Who rewatch has reached Deb’s personal tipping point into super-fandom. Join Deb, Erika, Liz, and Tansy as we discuss feelings and poor choices and schmaltz and glorious 80s hair.

How do you like “Father’s Day”? Did it reach into your heart, give you the feels, and make you a devout fangirl? Or did it confuse you to have all these strange emotions in your Doctor Who? If the latter, has that changed? Let us know in the comments!

^E

Also covered:

Bonus link:
Lazy Doctor Who covers “Father’s Day”

Download or listen now (runtime 1:26:39)  http://traffic.libsyn.com/veritypodcast/verityep115.mp3

Comments on: "115 – Father’s Day of the Dead" (6)

  1. Reblogged this on Confessions of a Curator, Editor, Geek and commented:

    New Verity!

    • This is my routine, for the record acknowledgment (despite not being on this ep) that I cry Every. Single. Time. I watch it.

      Followed by my requisite fist shaking and “Dammit, Cornell, you made me cry again.”

  2. Bob Gallagher said:

    Agree that this episode veers a bit too far into schmaltzy areas designed to hit you in the feelings.

    However, I first saw this episode a few weeks after my father died. So it hit me hard back in 2005, and continues to do so today. I’m willing to admit that I’d be more cynical about this episode had the timing been different.

  3. Although it was off-topic, I loved “The Doctor that your mum fancied” part of the podcast. Prompted to me to wonder which actors in general my late mother liked that way. This led to a good conversation with my sister about it. For what it’s worth, Dana Andrews and Paul Henreid were her actor crushes, and Tom Baker was the most likely candidate for the Doctor.

  4. David from San Diego said:

    I haven’t listened yet, but I’m *very* interested to hear this episode.

    After years of being hounded by my friends, I was finally convinced to watch Doctor Who. And the very first episode I watched? “Father’s Day!”

    I was in my mid-30s. I knew *nothing* about Doctor Who. I had never watched a single episode. But saw this episode. Thought it was perfect! Thought it was a perfect introduction. I didn’t have to know anything other than “time travel.” And I was immediately hooked.

  5. Andrew said:

    There was a question raised about why the Reaper moved away from the bride and went for the priest. It’s been a couple of years since I watched it, but I think they said something in the episode about the Reapers preferring to eat older people/things, which was why the Doctor was such a tasty snack.

Leave a Reply

