Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityExtraDamagedGoodsIt’s another bookish Extra! Join Deb, Erika, Lynne, and Tansy as we look at another first. This time it’s Russell T Davies’ first published Doctor Who work, his New Adventures novel Damaged Goods. This is another very grown-up-themed tome, and the Verities react as such. Some really enjoy it, others not as much. But as always, it’s a great discussion! (Though we do, necessarily, venture into some rather adult territory in the course of the discussion, so sensitive/young listeners may want to beware.)

Have you read this one? If so, what do you think of it? And can you see any RTD-isms poking up in this early work? Let us know in the comments!

^E

Related links:
The Doctor Who Book Club Podcast covers Damaged Goods
Russell T Davies Talks Damaged Goods in Doctor Who Magazine

Download or listen now (runtime 56:12)  

Comments on: "Extra! – Quel Dommaged Goods" (6)

  1. Reblogged this on Confessions of a Curator, Editor, Geek and commented:

    New Verity! In which I experience a New Adventures novel.

  2. I’m a bit disappointed in the limited scope of this review. I mean, all that discussion of gay characters in an RTD novel and not one mention of Queer as Folk, which he wrote/produced just a few years later, and which featured a gay whovian main character surnamed Tyler?

    • Had Kat been on, I’m certain that would have been mentioned, as I know she’s seen (I think both versions of) Queer as Folk. However, there are only so many hours in the day, and we can’t all consume all media (or remember to bring up relevant details from every single thing that we have, though I’ve never seen a moment of either version). For this Extra!, we set out to discuss the book itself and its relation to the rest of Who. Anything beyond that, I’d consider gravy.

  3. I was very pleased that Tansy brought up the Big Finish audio adaptation. Like many of the Verities, I’ve not read any of the New Adventures novels; but I have listened to most of the audio drama adaptations that have been done. As Tansy said in the podcast, for most of them changes are made to bring them more in line with the modern sensibility of what makes proper Doctor Who (in the eyes of the BBC and Big Finish, anyway).

    Erika, I’d recommend the audio of Damaged Goods for you, it’s very good, and perhaps t’ll serve as a means to get whatever bad taste might have been left in your mouth after reading the novel. Most of the novel adaptations they’ve done have been a step above their usual standards (which is really saying something).

    I initially thought you all may have spent a little too much time on the “We can think it is good, but not be to our taste” topic. Perhaps in my case it’s preaching to the choir, so I took a step back and realized there must others that need to have that underlined a bit more. I do see bits of that in fandom from time to time. For example, when I mention who may be my least favorite companion, people sometimes react and ask “How can you hate so-and-so?!” I always patiently explain that I don’t hate them, I just like all the others more (it’s the same with salmon for me. It’s my least favorite fish, but I will still eagerly enjoy it if it is served to me).

    Sorry, this is a bit rambling. It’s late. Thanks for another enjoyable podcast!

  4. I also recommend the Big Finish audio. I enjoyed it a lot. From the discussion of the book in the podcast, I think the audio is as far as I should go, myself. I think that the book probably isn’t my cup of tea also.

Leave a Reply

