Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

VerityEpisode117It’s another series 1 two-parter! Join Deb, Erika, Katrina, and Lynne as we discuss Steven Moffat’s first submission to the new era of Doctor Who. There’s a lot of love for both the 9th Doctor and Captain Jack, who may or may not be the physical incarnation of the Doctor’s libido. (Thanks, Lynne, for sharing that now-unseeable, though still unbelievable fan crack-theory!)

What are your thoughts on this two-parter? Do you like the Doctor as a “dancer”? Does that make you go all squicky? Do you like Captain Jack better here or later, in Torchwood? Let us know in the comments!

^E

Also covered:

Bonus links:
Uncanny Magazine wins the Hugo Award for Best Semiprozine!

Download or listen now (runtime 1:29:12)  http://traffic.libsyn.com/veritypodcast/verityep117.mp3

Comments on: "117 – Empty(?) Dancing" (7)

  1. Sophia said:

    Rose and Mickey aren’t fighting in girl in the fireplace cuz moffat wasn’t told about it. I know that there’s this whole moffat hates rose theory but I’ve only seen him have positive things to say about how Billie is hugely responsible for bringing the show back and how he thought doctor/rose was a beautiful story–but belonged to rtd. I think it’s worth saying that at the time empty child came out no one knew moffat could do horror or indeed drama, he was most associated with writing relationship comedies heavy on farce and was actually a controversial pick to write for the series.

  2. Bob Gallagher said:

    I had recently been asked to list my favorite stories from the new series. These are usually exercises in frivolity, but after I gave it some proper thought, I ranked this story at the top of my list. And for many of the same reasons you all cite in the podcast. So thank you for validating my opinions!

  3. David Schaub said:

    Thanks for the great podcast about this story. You all covered it wonderfully.

    When the 9th Doctor’s episodes was coming out, I really enjoy “The End of the World”, and “Dalek” had it’s moments, but it was “The Empty Child” / “The Doctor Dances” that made me a fan of new Who.

    A return to the core of “my” Doctor Who: Sci-Fi + Gothic Horror

    It’s right up with my other favourite new Who story: “The Impossible Planet” / “The Satan Pit”

    Are we sure Time Lords really reproduce sexually?

  4. David Thiel said:

    “Nine hundred years old, me. I’ve been around a bit. I think you can assume at some point I’ve danced.”

    I appreciate Erika’s perspective on the question of the Doctor’s sexuality, and thank her for sharing it. I think that now I better understand something that has long puzzled me.

    I’m an old-school fan, and I couldn’t comprehend the insistence that the Doctor and, by extension, the Time Lords themselves were asexual, despite indisputable evidence to the contrary *in the very first episode*.

    I took it as a too-literal reading of “No hanky-panky in the TARDIS,” John Nathan-Turner’s explanation that there was nothing untoward about Peter Davison living in a box with two young women. It was around that time that script editor Eric Saward wrote a short story retconning Susan into a not-at-all-related, thank-you-very-much fugitive Time Lady.

    During the Wilderness Years, a load of nonsense about the Pythia and the Looms was introduced to eliminate any possibility of the Doctor ever having done the nasty. And then there was the hue and cry over Kissyface McGann.

    So, for me, it was a relief when Stephen Moffat put that bit of dialogue in the Doctor’s mouth. I heard it as, “Well, of course, the Doctor’s had sex before, but it’s not something we’re going to dwell on.”

    Granted, the show eventually *did* dwell on it.

  5. David Thiel said:

    Regarding Captain Jack: I adored the character from the start, and eagerly awaited his spin-off…only to be sorely disappointed when fun, confident Jack was replaced by broody, sits-in-a-cave, buried for 1,874 years Jack.

    My take on Jack in “The Doctor Dances” is that he’s intended as a “better model” of the Doctor. He’s younger, more conventionally attractive, has a flashier spaceship and a larger sonic device. More importantly, he’s sexually available whereas the 9th Doctor is still holding back.

    Yet, unlike the later River Song, he’s really *not* a better Doctor than the Doctor. It’s not just that he’s less-than-competent as a con artist as you suggest, but that he lacks the knowledge, experience and empathy to save the day on his own.

    • That’s a bit of a Moffat pattern, isn’t it? Introduce a mysterious and fascinating character, then gradually grind all the mystery out of them and explain every single thing about them until they’re just not fun any more. (*cough* River Song *cough*.)

  6. Did you discuss the whole Steven Moffat+mothers thing and I dozed off, or is that played out and beyond discussion? I weep every time I think of “Jamie, I am your mummy, I will ALWAYS be your mummy”; but that is as the mother of an angel, so it’s personal. However, the fleshed out mother who is very mother-y at all times is still a Thing, of course.
    I always figured the Doctor was into Time Lords but not humans, not seeing us as potential partners, just friends. Which doesn’t preclude him discovering a human he likes, so I’m not sure why I was so annoyed by that concept initially. I was only slightly uncomfortable in this story for that reason, but much more irate by the kiss at the end of the season. I have subsequently adjusted to the concept of the Doctor snogging all sorts of people nowadays.

Leave a Reply

