Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

verityepisode120In continuing with our year of firsts, we decided to check out Doctor Who‘s first ever spin-off! Join Deb, Erika, and Liz as we discuss the gem that is K-9 and Company. Sarah Jane in her “natural” habitat! The greatest aunt of all–Lavinia! stereotypical rural folks! A cult! And perhaps most importantly of all, a very concerned goat.

Have you seen this jewel of a Christmas special? Please tell us what you thought in the comments!

^E

Also covered:

Download or listen now (runtime 1:05:50) 

Comments on: "120 – K-9, in Good Company" (10)

  1. terminuspodcast said:

    To Liz’s question about Hekate: Yes, she was a Greek/Hellenic goddess (later also a Roman one as Hecate Triformis, because the Romans liked to absorb gods from other religions into their own), but in more recent times, she has become more commonly associated with neopaganism (i.e. modern paganism) and witchcraft/Wicca (at least in the last 100 years or so — as the maiden-mother-crone), so I’m guessing that was what they were going for in the story?

    I’m actually a HUGE Classical nerd and a Hellenic Pagan, myself (i.e. I worship the gods of Ancient Greece as my religion), and I have to say that I honestly found it a bit humorous and jarring as well that the ceremonies in the story were to Hekate instead of a more Celtic-oriented deity. But again, modern witchcraft/Wicca ceremonies are probably the reason. Still, I did love that they got things right about Her, like her big association with dogs* and, thus, funnily enough, K-9 being taken for ‘Hekate’s familiar’ to the locals. Even if the term ‘familiar’ is more of a witchcraft term.

    Not sure how much She could help with the harvest though, as She tends to be more of a chthonic/underworld deity on the whole, but in Her more modern magickal associations, I suppose I can see them doing a ritual for her, as she might bestow said magick on what the villagers want/need (though the human sacrifice wouldn’t be realistic at all — that was more for shock value). 🙂

    *For example, the Ancient Greeks believed that when you heard a dog barking at night outside that Hekate was nearby.

  2. terminuspodcast said:

    Oh, and I know it is bad, but I always think that Juno and her husband are TOTALLY hitting on Sarah Jane half the time and in my mind, they are totally swingers* and they keep trying to get Sarah to go to one of their key parties. They just seem to have so much innuendo with what they say much of the time. It totally cracks me up. 😉

    * Don’t get me wrong, I don’t say that in a disparaging way at all, as I’m in an open marriage, myself, but still! 🙂

  3. My memory is that they didnt show this in Australia until after “The Five Doctors” and so the scene with K-9 and Sarah-Jane didn’t really make sense.

    As for the Doctor’s break-up gifts, he did give one to Jo: a crystal from Metebelis 3. She later sent it back (ostensibly because it was bothering the Amazonian natives), sparking a series of events that led to the Doctor regenerating. So I can understand why he might not have later gone back and given her a tin dog,

  4. Is K9 Scooby Doo? Clayton Hickman and Gareth Roberts have an answer:

  5. Personally, I like it when you all agree on liking something. You can never have too much positivity! 🙂

    I wasn’t expecting to come away from this wanting to watch K-9 and Company again, but that’s just what you’ve done to me. I have only seen it the once, when it was originally broadcast, and I remember thinking it was basically a remake of Stones of Blood but with Sarah-Jane instead of Romana, and no Doctor. It never occurred to me that it might be worth revisiting, but you’ve changed my mind! I will certainly dig out the DVD some time during the festive season and give it another spin. 🙂

  6. Completely silly, and really fun. I adore Sarah Jane, and hadn’t come across this, or at least hadn’t been tipped it was worthwhile. Helps to explain The Five Doctors as well as Sarah Jane Adventures. Thank you very much 🙂 God that woman is missed.

  7. One thing that I’ve heard is that the reason this was produced in the first place was to soften the blow of K-9 being removed from the show. It took two episodes of production budget and time out of Series 19, which was why Black Orchid happened the way it did.

    My initial impressions were much like Paul’s above: Stones of Blood all over again, only without the plot twist. I think that the huge problem with the title sequence is that the music is bouncy and actiony — and what we see is Sarah Jane reading a newspaper, drinking some wine, jogging, driving. (And K-9 on top of a well he’d never have climbed on his own.)

    All that “who’s really the bad guy” is interesting, but in the end it doesn’t matter: Sarah Jane and K-9 just find and zap the ritual, and it wouldn’t matter who had been involved. That’s sloppy plotting. There are good ideas here, but I can’t see a series on the same basis keeping up viewer interest.

  8. thegirlfromgallifreyblog said:

    Has Class come out in Australia?

    • It has. It aired on the ABC on Oct 23, and I think is available on the associated online player too.

      • thegirlfromgallifreyblog said:

        Ok, thanks Erica. I suppose I an a bot cautious about it cause of how Moffat described it. Like BUFFY !? Seriously dude, come on! I hope it isnt another shitty spinnoff :/

        Anyways thanks again, E!

        Live long and prosper 🖖🏿

        -TheGirlFromGallifrey

Leave a Reply

