Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

verityextragally2017It’s our annual recorded-live-in-person Gallifrey One Extra! Join Deb, Erika, and Katrina as we tiredly gush over how lovely this year’s Gally has been.

Were you at Gally this year? Please share your fond memories in the comments!

^E

Download or listen now (runtime 32:03) 

Comments on: "Extra! – Gallifrey One Love" (9)

  1. Listening to this has convinced me I *need* to get to Gally next year…

  2. Reblogged this on Confessions of a Curator, Editor, Geek and commented:

    New Verity! Extra!

  3. I had so much fun this year! I think getting involved with the panels as an attendee really made a difference in my sense of connection to the Con. In fact, the four of us on the Diversity panel decided that one way of increasing/improving the diversity conversation at Gally is to get more diverse people on the panels (which still were overwhelmingly white guys). So, if your not a Verity and you’re reading this comment AND you get Gally tickets, look out for the announcement from Gallifrey One listing the panels open to attendees and then submit your name to be on one, two or even three of them.

    I’d also like to add that Deb and Kat did a great job at staying respectful and calm during a panel that had many of us in the audience seeing red. But, in the end, the problem was lack of education. I hope the men on the panel that offered excuses for the lack of female respresentation behind the Doctor Who camera are now inspired to figure out why we got so angry and educate themselves.

    • I also hope more folks volunteer to be panelists next year! Broadening the scope of experiences and opinions on panels *always* makes a panel better, in my experience.

      I also agree that Deb and Kat did yeoman’s (yeo…person’s?) work on that panel. My personal fave was the moment that boiled down to, “Wait, I acknowledged my privilege—why are you calling me out for unthinkingly advancing privileged perspectives?” ~headdesk~ Folks are trying, but there’s clearly still a long way to go…

  4. David Thiel said:

    This was my first time at Gallifrey One, and while I don’t know that I’ll be able to make it annual thing, I have to say that it was every bit as well-run as I’d heard. For a major convention, it felt very intimate. People were kind and respectful. I’m not sure that I heard a single word spoken in anger the entire three days.

    It was great to meet the three of you, and even better to have the opportunity to play “In Defense Of!” I thought that I gave a spirited defense of Paul McGann’s wig. (Not that it requires any defense.) My only disappointment in losing was that I was unable to play another round or two. So much fun!

  5. Bliss Ehrlich said:

    Hullo Verities! Delayed my comments on my 1st Gally due to travel and con-crud and work, but I did want to give a big shout-out to Erika, Deb and Kat. It was great to meet you all in person. I definitely got a bit tongue-tied and hope I wasn’t too awkward. Would have loved to buy you all a drink and chat, but it was such a whirlwind and I cannot imagine how crazy your schedules must be.

    I thought Gally was a very well run event with many things to do and many great guests. It managed to be big but feel small. Everyone was polite and respected others. The guests were great and very friendly. I had an smashingly good time at both “in Defense of” (yes, I was the creator of defending a negative question about a fan club for Peter Capaldi’s hair, but I have no regrets) and Cornell Collective, where I was too shy to shout out “The Line of Flatness”, though I should have.

    I don’t sew, knit or embroider, so I was not sure I would get much out of the costume panel, but it was one of my highlights. The fellow (bad with remembering names) who put together the slide show was a great addition and June Hudson was superb in every way. I only hope I am that energetic and together when I am her age. The whole panel was so much fun and seemed to end too quickly.

    I also attended the Panel of Awkwardness referred to above. I think it was very telling that men who obviously care, are progressive thinkers and deeply value women in Who, and the entertainment industry in general, struggled to grasp the impact of their comments. I also think that it is all too easy to assume the progress made is turning a corner. I’m not involved in British television, so maybe it is very progressive, but the impact of TV personalities (in front of and behind the camera) extends far beyond any closed group. As a woman in the business world, I struggle almost every day with slights and put-downs. It is a constant fight to stay positive and push-back. There are only a very small number of people who will ever know of or see my struggles. There are only a small number of people who I can mentor. Television should be held to a higher standard because of its visibility. The actions of individuals in the arts to equality should be held to a higher standard because everything that happens is very visible to the general population. The arts send a message to the rest of society, often times one that is not wanted, and people NOTICE more than anywhere else when things are not fair. I don’t disagree with the guys that much good has been done, but I think if Rachel Talalay were there she would have been able to point out that things are not equal and it is a constant struggle to break down barriers. We should not measure success in equality (gender, color, ethnicity or any other measure) in relative terms. To say that the UK has 35% equal distribution of work versus the rest of the world only having 5% doesn’t change the fact that 35% is still kinda crappy (made up numbers- just to make a point). Anyway, sorry for the ramble. For all the awkwardness this panel got me thinking and discussing more than any other, and in the end that perhaps makes it the most valuable.

    On a lighter note, it was a surprise that taking a breather in the video room and watching some episodes with fellow Whovians was more fun than I ever expected.

    And last but not least, the grand finale (or perhaps grande dame finale…or god-damn grande dame finale…) was SO great. Kudos to Deb for balancing the questions and everyone’s time. It was a lovely way to end the event.

    I hope I can get tickets and make it out again next year. It was a great time.

  6. Neil A Ottenstein said:

    Regarding not being able to record the In Defense Of panel or other panels at Gallifery One due to Gallifrey One policy – does Radio Free Skaro receive a special dispensation to record their live show there?

    • Yep! They’re the official podcast of Gallifrey One, so they’re the official lens through which the greater world can peek into Gally. It’s important to the organizers that it be an intimate gathering, all about the people who are there, so they don’t want it to become the kind of thing that’s live-streamed where people feel like they’re performing for the whole world, rather than the group of folks in the room.

      A few other podcasts have done live episodes (The Cornell Collective, Reality Bomb), but they’re set up as live recordings from the get go. If we ever want to do that, we’ll need to ask ahead of time and bill it to the audience and participants as such. It could happen!

Leave a Reply

