Six Smart Women Discussing Doctor Who

Did someone order a silly Extra!? Because we’ve certainly got one for you! Join Deb, Erika, Katrina, and Liz as we talk about Doctor Who novelty music. Some of it is fun, some is painful. You be the judge of which is which.

Which are your most and least favorite DW novelty songs? Did we miss any? (Note: We tried to mostly stick to novelty songs and avoid Trock.) Let us know what you think in the comments!

Extra-special thanks to Steven Schapansky of Castria for doing a bang-up job of editing this special, musical Extra!

^E

New podcast link!
Start the Music!

Musical links:
“The Ballad of Doctor Who” by Bullamakanka
“Call Me During Doctor Who and I’ll Kill You” by Mitch Benn
“The Colin Baker Song” by Mitch Benn
“Doctor in Distress” by… everyone
“Doctor Who Girl” by Mitch Benn
“Doctorin’ the TARDIS” by The Timelords/KLF
“Don’t Cancel Dr Who!” by Mitch Benn
“I Am The Doctor” by Jon Pertwee
“I’m Gonna Spend My Christmas With A Dalek” by The Go Go’s
“Who’s Doctor Who” by Frazer Hines
“Who’s Who (Doctor Who)” by Roberta Tovey

UNRELATED link:
Star Trekkin’ by The Firm

Download or listen now (runtime 49:02) 

Comments on: "Extra! – Doctor Who Noveltunes" (19)

  1. Reblogged this on Confessions of a Curator, Editor, Geek and commented:

    New Verity! Extra! featuring NOVELTY MUSIC

  2. Once again, Verity expands my Doctor Who horizons in unexpected and delightful ways. Thanks women!!

  3. Excellent as ever! 😀 Couple of others that popped into my head, just to add to the list: “The Ballad of Russell and Julie”, and Bill Bailey’s “Doctor Qui”.

  4. Liz is right. Not knowing about Star Trekkin’ is unacceptable! Maybe it didn’t get traction in North America. It was certainly a bit here in Australia. As was Doctorin’ the TARDIS, which came out at about the same time.

    Another entry, which I’ve only heard part of, is called ‘I wanna be a Doctor Who’. Australian, I think, and fairly punky.

    Final thought: The lamented Splendid Chaps podcast ended each episode with a live cover of most of these songs, and some others too. You can still get hold of them and they’re excellent.

  5. saxon_brenton said:

    A fun episode. I’ll point out the ‘Four Chords of Time’ by the Oodcast.

  6. Jeff Hildebrand said:

    Is it just me or did the Dalek in “I’m Gonna Spend My Christmas With a Dalek” sound a lot more like K-9 than a Dalek?

    Also, Star Trekkin’ was definitely a staple on the Dr. Demento show in the US. I don’t think it went beyond that though. And if you bring up Leonard Nimoy singing, you have to also mention William Shatner trying to sing Mr. Tambourine Man.

  7. Ann-Marie said:

    Star Trekkin’ was indeed known in the US (in response to mrcoxy), at least in fan circles.

    I can’t add to the Doctor Who entries, so I’m glad you expanded the discussion a bit. One of my favorite media-inspired songs is “William Shatner,” by the Scofflaws. A delightful ska tune about our intrepid Captain Kirk. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zeU8Hlk3970

    Another that came to mind was “Christmas Tauntauns.” Sadly, I don’t know who to credit for that one. I think it came from a fan video competition. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Up-eRyp5e0A

    There’s also a filked/parody version of “Fiddler on the Roof,” done up for the Lovecraft universe (A Shoggoth on the Roof). It’s the whole soundtrack, if I recall correctly.

    I’m sure I’ll think of tons more later, but that’s what my brain has for the moment. Thanks for the episode!

  8. I have Doctorin the Tardis! Yes, I happily admit that! I also had a copy of Star Trekkin’, but I don’t remember it sounding like that. I think mine came in a magazine, Mad or Cracked.

  9. past-the-shy said:

    My favorite is a rather humorous view of the Doctor Who fangirl, called Doctor Who’s Assistant by Geraldine Quinn. It’s an original composition but was only released on Youtube so I’m not sure if it’s official novelty or filk. https://youtu.be/5xvacupPo-w
    Also Bigger on the Inside by Aurelio Voltaire, a bonus song from his album Bitrektual(an album of Star Trek and Star Wars novelty). https://youtu.be/YRQJGPpIWCc

    • Great episode there’s this recent one too dunno if it counts

      Tujamo & Plastik Funk ft. Sneakbo – Dr. Who!
      and Human League

    • Oh wow, I had no idea Voltaire had done a tribute song! (although it sounds like he’s not an actual fan) Thanks!

  10. Eric P Gjovaag said:

    Here’s a fun one: A mash-up involving a mash-up. Some guy named Dean Gray did mash-ups of EVERY SONG off the “American Idiot” album, and guess what he mashed up with “Holiday”? Take a look at https://youtu.be/PAzzhJeTp-I.

  11. Fun episode! Definitely check out “I’ve Never Watched an Episode of Doctor Who in My Life” by Adam WarRock:

  12. My particular favorite is “Come Along, Pond” by the Italian indie rock group, Tiny Tide!

  13. Vila42 said:

    I loved the variety of songs, including some old-school ones that I didn’t even know about. I had no idea that Frazer Hines recorded a Doctor Who related song. Thanks for including “The Ballad of Doctor Who”, I had been looking for that wonderfully ridiculous song for ages and I didn’t remember the proper title. However, I can offer another equally quirky song from that same era… The Doctor: By Jim Burrill. The only place I ever heard it, until I found it on YouTube, was on Doctor Demento.

  14. Sarah said:

    Oh, lord, the nostalgia! I used to be a big Dr. Demento fan, and he aired some DW novelty songs over the years, yes. Because of his show, I also heard “Star Trekkin’ “… many, many times. That gives me a “Babylon 5” connection — “Fish Heads” by Barnes & Barnes from 1978 was a huge hit on his show for years, and one of the Barnes & Barnes duo was Bill Mumy, who later played B5’s Lennier.

  15. David Schaub said:

    Here’s another great Star Trek Novelty band: S.P.O.C.K. Wow, they have *concerts*…

    My favourite:

  16. I mentioned this on Facebook, but here’s a link to Rotersand – Exterminate Annihilate Destroy, sampling Power of the Daleks. Not really technically a Doctor Who-themed song, but..

Leave a Reply

